Key West Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Awesome!! I made this chicken last night on the grill, and it left me wanting more! After reading some of the reviews I did tweak this to my liking. I prepared the marinade the night before. I first started with 1 batch, and realizing how little it makes, so I decided to double the recipe. I used all together 3 tbsp soy sauce, doubling calls for 6, so I cut in half, about 3 tbsp of honey, 2 tbsp oil, juice from 2 fresh limes(squeezed dry), 2 tsp of garlic, and chicken(I used chicken tenders). Lowering the soy sauce and upping the honey and lime juice is key. I can see how the soy could become a prominent flavor. I marinated over night, turning once. The next day I grilled on low, and the chicken came out tender, juicy, and full of flavor. The flavor was very well blended. You could taste just a hint of everything. My family loved this. There were no leftovers disappointingly. The next time I will be sure to make a little extra marinade and set it aside. This would be great to have on hand at dinner for an extra kick of flavor and juices. Also, I served this with the oven roasted potatoes from this site, and asparagus (which we put on the grill with the chicken). I topped everything off with some fresh parmesan and romano cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
476 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
This chicken was SO good! I managed to grill it perfectly, and it was very moist. I served it with cilantro lime rice, tropical fruit salad and a green salad. What a great meal. Oh, and the chicken was even better the next day on toasted bread with melted cheese, deli mustard and sliced tomatoes (my husband's creation). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
My husband & I loved the flavors of this dish! The ingredients really blended well together, adding some sweetness to the dish. I marinated the chicken overnight & then placed them in a tin foil-lined pan (with the marinade, and baked in a 350 degree preheated oven for 25 minutes. I served it with steamed white rice, drizzled with the cooked sauce. Next time I will definitely try them grilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
Wonderful! I read past reviews, added the juice of one lime and doubled the honey. I didn't marinade it whatsoever (since this was a spur of the moment dinner). What I did was used wings and legs, seasoned it with pepper, then placed it in a shallow baking dish, poured the marinade over them and baked them in the oven for about 45 mins (turning them every so often). Served these with a medley of veggies and rice (which I ladled the marinade over). Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
I marinaded this overnight and in the morning threw some shrimp in, too. It was incredible! Great taste and very tender chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
This is an easy and quick marinade that you are sure to enjoy. Even my very picky husband thought this was delicious and we'll definitely make it again. It went well with grilled potatoes and if anyone knows of another good side dish for this chicken, I would love the suggestion. I marinaded the chicken breasts for a little over 8 hours and after grilling them, they were so tender and had wonderful flavor. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
This is a great marinade. I added a healthy pinch of curry powder and some toasted seasame seeds and to it and marinaded some beef cubes overnight - best BBQ kebabs I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
This recipe was boring and lacked the flavor I was expecting. I made a few changes. I upped the lime juice, lowered the soy sauce, used tenderloins instead of breasts and left it to marinade overnight. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either and it left my friend and I longing for more flavor. I probably will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
This is a winner because it's simple, taste great and uses what you probably have sitting in your kitchen cupboards to make. I only marinated my chicken for 30 min. and that was enough to add plenty of flavor. I can't wait to marinate my meat even longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
This was a very good marinade. I marinaded the chicken overnight and it turned out very good with a nice flavour. I would definitely use this marinade again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 831) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key West Chicken

It's the hint of lime that makes this marinade for grilled chicken so delicious.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States