Key Lime Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This cake is extremely moist! Took less than 90 minutes for me, maybe 70-75...I dyed it green for fun, it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This cake was okay. I made it the morning it was served to company at my house and the glaze had not soaked through to all the cake. The top half was moist but the bottom was dry. I would suggest either using a wooden spoon to make the holes instead of a toothpick or not serving to the next day. However, I noticed even though it was moist the next day the rum flavor seemed to disapate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This recipe was great. Prep takes a bit of time, but otherwise I loved it! I brought it to a dinner party and it got great reviews! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Henderson, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I really liked this cake, but made a few changes. I cut down on the sugar and eggs in the cake, to 3 eggs and 1 cup of sugar. It still turned out very fluffy and light. I used a quarter cup of spiced rum in the main cake and a half cup in the glaze. I agree with other reviewers that the glaze is very sweet, so it might be worth it to cut down it's sugar contents too. I felt like the lime and the rum had a nice balance --- but then, I did use extra rum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Tin Can Castle
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as is, and was very pleased with the result: a moist, rich, tangy cake that was the perfect ending to a citrus-themed 3-course meal. I served it about 4 hours after taking it out of the oven, and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
The cake part of the recipe is wonderful. Light, fluffy, moist- I added a lot more rum (like two cups worth :), and the lime is VERY strong. I think next time I'll use a little less lime. The glaze was ok- very limey- I suggest reviewing a few recipes for regular rum cake, because this is a strange glaze. I'm used to boiling mine for 4 minutes while stirring. I guess it's what you like! Overall, I would use this recipe again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This cake was delicious. However, I did notice that the lime really overpowered the rum. Therefore, next time, I will add perhaps a tablespoon more rum. I did not make the glaze called for in the recipe. Instead, I used 2 cups of confectioners sugar and added about 4 tablespoons of lime juice. Also, it only took about 70 mins to bake, not the 90 called for. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
We made this for a birthday dinner. It turned out great. Instead of pure rum on the glaze, we used rum extract. Both of the birthday people liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
The flavor was o.k. but the cake was a bit dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Wonderful stuff. Very rich, though and I cut it into smaller servings. Also, I only baked it for an hour before I tested it. 90 minutes seemed a bit long to me. Maybe the author of the original recipe wanted a thicker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malibu, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States