Key Lime Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
This recipe was wonderful with a slight modification. Instead of using a tub of cool whip I mixed my own cream and didn't add any sugar to sweeten it. It cut down on the sweetness of the pie (and the recongnizable sweetened condensed milk flavor) and enhanced the tartness. This will now be the only recipe I use to make this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
my mom and i LOVE key lime pie and this was incredible! we also watch what we eat very carefully, so i used fat free sweetened condensed milk, fat free whipped topping, sugar free pudding, and a reduced fat crust...no one could tell it was low fat at all! they were amazed when i told them. i added 1 drop of green food coloring to give it the light green color. the presentation was lovely and this great pie was a real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Love, love, love this recipe!! It was so easy, yet tasted like I slaved over it! I used the bottled Key Lime juice instead of regular lime and my sister and I (who are both avid Key Lime pie fans) thought the tartness was perfect, but my husband thought it a little too tart and added whipped cream to the top of his to cut the tartness. We all agreed the only way to improve this would be to melt white chocolate and pour a thin layer over the crust before adding the filling. I also used the graham cracker crust. I will be making this frequently this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
My family loved this! Some reviewers said only 3/4cup lime juice would be better so I started with that, tasted it, and decided to add more, so it was probably just under 1 cup. I also used real whipped cream (had some leftover), and a store-bought graham cracker crust. It was delicious, creamy, a pretty color, and not too sweet or too tart. There was enough filling leftover to make a little parfait. Mine was a bit gooey, I found it's better frozen and served straight out of the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
So easy and Delicious. I used lemon pudding rather than vanilla pudding. I used 3 regular limes(not key limes) and 1 lemon. And used half the amount of cool whip called for. I kept everything else the same. The result was a thick and lite Lime Pie. I made it for dessert and my family of 4 adults ate the whole thing that night. HIGHLY RECOMENDED!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I was very impressed with this "no bake" pie recipe! Super easy, my 11 year old basically made it. We used a store bought nilla wafer crust and it turned out fine. The only advice I would give is to make it a day in advance, it tasted better and was *thicker* the next day. Thanks for posting this! We will make it again and again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Delicious! This is one of the best Key Lime Pies I've tasted. I used a graham cracker crust and only 3/4 cup of lime juice (I think it would have been a bit too tart with any more). Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
One of the best Key Lime fakes I've ever made...easy! I used a prepared shortbread crust (which is smaller than 10") and I actually got 2 pies out of this with enough room to have a thin layer of whipped topping on the top....it was perfect for the cookout we had! I got raves for this one....thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
I went into the recipe thinking that I would not like it as much as "easy key lime pie I" from this site. But let me tell you this is good! And I'm not sure which is better the easy key lime pie I or this one? Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
As mentioned by an earlier reviewer - using the thawed can of frozen margarita mix in place of the lime juice makes this an incredible dessert. I also recommend making (and baking 8 min) your own graham cracker crust. And ditch the Cool Whip ....use fresh whipped whipping cream instead and you won't regret it. Note: only add 1 tsp powdered sugar to the whipping cream. This adaptation is VERY rich, but has just the right tartness and not overwhelmingly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colleyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States