Key Lime Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
So easy and so good. I garnished with whipped cream and thought it would be needed for added creaminess but the pie is perfectly creamy on its own. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
BEST PIE EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I had an old store purchased graham cracker crust lying around, so I decided to see what I can do to use it up; I found this really simple recipe, and after reading the reviews, decided to go for it. I went to three (3) different stores to source key limes -- no luck, so I settled for regular limes. It took five limes for me to get 3/4 C. of juice, and thanks to other reviewers, I knew to use two (2) scans of sweetened condensed milk. Acid test -- we just had it for dessert; Daughter said "its GOOD, Mama!", and Husband practically inhaled it. I'm going to savor mine after sending this review. Thank you for sharing this gem of a recipe -- I like hitting the "easy" button when it comes to cooking. This recipe delivers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oweary1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
My family enjoyed this pie very much but it's a little bit rich for me. The preparation couldn't get much easier though. It took four Persian limes to get 3/4 cup of lime juice and the zest from two to get a tablespoon full. **note to Michellica: your pie could have turned out bitter if you included the soft, spongy part (the pith) of the lime when taking the zest off the limes. The pith tends to be quite bitter. You want only the deep green part of the skin, the part right at the surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
So many compliments when I make this pie! For the crust, I use the recipe on the Honey Maid graham cracker crumb box. Add in about 1/3 cup of sweetened shredded coconut to the crumbs for a more interesting version. You may have to add in a bit more melted butter depending on the moisture in the coconut. I used 2 cans of condensed milk and increased the lime juice from 3/4c to 1c. Just used good ol' SoCal limes from the neighbor's tree for the juice. I found it helpful to add the grated lime zest by hand, just before you pour the filling into the shell; then the zest won't hang up on your beaters. When serving, add some fresh raspberries and a bit of raspberry coulis to jazz it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Jacobs
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
EASY! and everyone LOVES them. I used key lime juice in the bottle. Also make the graham cracker crust from scratch. It is also easy and so much yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hanners

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This pie was really tasty. I didn't have sour cream and substituted Greek yogurt. the lime zest intensified the flavor, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Mine refuse to se and was too sweet. What a bummer :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Image made this pie 4 times now and the recipe is great. However, the lime juice does make a significant difference. I couldn't find key limes the first time I made it and even the regular limes were too expensive to justify it, so I just used regular lime juice (the Real Lemon brand) and it was perfect, not too tart, just the perfect amount of tartness. This last time I found actual Key West key lime juice at Publix and it was just too tart. I am sure if I only use 1/2 cup of the juice amount it would have been perfect. Just keep that in mind if you do not want it too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
READ THESE TIPS before making since squeezing the limes is the most time-consuming part! #1 Microwave 8-10 key limes 30-40 seconds before squeezing. They'll be warm to the touch, and when you cut them open they'll burst with juice, making it much easier to hand squeeze into a measuring cup. #2 Microwave 8-10 at a time but cut 5 open while warm and squeeze while warm. Then cut another 5 open and squeeze while warm. As they cool after cut, it gets harder to squeeze them. While they're warm, the juice just comes pouring out. #3 Don't worry about the seeds until after ALL juice is measured-then pour through a wire mesh strainer or tea strainer. Goes faster this way. These are my lime squeezing tips because it's the most annoying part. The rest is easy-so few ingredients and so wonderful. Tastes like restaurant quality pie. You'd think you're visiting The Florida Keys! Make your own whipped topping and make your own pie crust please. It makes it mo bettah. I also have additional photos on my blog paulajeancuisine.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,818) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States