Key Lime Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Rose Otero-Molina
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
My daughter loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Otero-Molina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I'm not a terrible baker for one and I was so excited for this to turn out well given all the good reviews. The pie did not set at all! It was liquid even after baking and after refrigerating over night. So disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avril Soh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Awesome recipe! A few changes: I used a combo of fresh lime,fresh lemon, and bottled key lime juice to equal 3/4 cups. Also, I used half cream cheese and half sour cream to equal 1/2 cup. I used 2 cans of condensed milk. More would have been too much. Everything but the zest went into the Vitamix. I stirred in almost one tablespoon of lime zest. Super easy! I made a shortbread cookie crust with Lorna Doones cookies. Baked the pie for 10 minutes like some reviewers suggested and once cooled, refrigerated the pie overnight. It set up perfectly and very creamy. This was my husbands birthday dessert and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookielover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bobbybsgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Easy to make I used a homemade ginger snap cookie crust even guests from south Florida loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbybsgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
OMGosh, so yummy!!! I made this for Christmas eve, doubled the recipe, and made it in a 9 x 13 glass dish. It took me 59 key limes to make 3/4 cup of juice (they were ping pong ball sized limes). Someone said they only used about 6 limes, well I think they must have used regular lime. So for the double recipe part, I used lemon juice. I made the crust like someone else suggested (Keebler pecan sandies and butter). It was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This tasted great? I followed the recipe exactly... Thanks for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is the best key lime pie. Must use key limes. Garlic press works great to squeeze limes. I substituted crust using a homemade vanilla wafer crust (1.5cup food processed waffers & 2/3 cup melted butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This recipe is great. I have been making it for a couple years now and will never use another Key Lime Pie recipe. After reading a lot of other comments on here, I don't understand why it's taking 20+ key limes or so for others to extract 3/4 cup worth of juice. It only takes me 6-8 key limes, cut in half and squeezed by hand, to get 3/4 cup. The key is to buy the dark green key limes and check to make sure they're somewhat soft when squeezing. It will not hinder the flavor. I also supplement the Graham Cracker crust with my own recipe using Keebler Shortbread Cookies. You will never go back after using this crust recipe. 1 (11.2 oz package) Keebler Sandies Shortbread Cookies, 4 tbsp Butter Flavored Crisco, 4 tbsp sugar. Crush the cookies into a powder using a processor, mix with the sugar and Crisco, and pack it nicely into your pie dish. Bake @ 325 degrees for about 10 minutes before adding the pie filling (then bake again according to this recipe's instructions). It tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
So simple, yet so delicious. This is a highly requested pie, and it's so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This pie is delicious! I used about 20 key limes and almost 1 regular lime. To juice the key limes, I sliced off the top and bottoms of each lime, then used a small fork to get all the juice out. This seemed to be the easiest way, since I was able to rub the inside of the lime against the fork. Don't forget to squeeze the little end peices for an extra few drops of that lime gold. I didn't see any mention if straining the juice, but it was an easy step to a creamy pie. I did grate about 4 key limes to get the zest. I don't know if it adds that much flavor, but it definitely makes for a pretty pie. Easy, not to sweet, not to tart. It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,925) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States