Key Lime Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
As someone who spent much of his childhood in Key West, I'll have to say that this recipe is a lot easier than the old way. Had to laugh at the young lady that was disappointed that her Key Lime Pie turned out "tart" and a little "bitter". If you don't like tart and a little bitter, you don't like Key Lime Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
So easy and SO DELICIOUS and rich and creamy. Doesn't even need Cool Whip. The only thing I had an issue with was cook time - it did not seem to change/"set" when I baked it for the 5-8 minutes and I probably ended up baking it around 15 or more minutes to get the little bubbles on the surface. I use Nellie & Joe's key lime juice which comes in a bottle and they have at my local Giant. I usually leave out the lime zest since I don't have a microplane and it's still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
So easy and creamy! My husbands favorite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Some time ago I went on a quest to find the perfect Key Lime pie recipe trying many different recipes and eliminating all but one which I thougt was the best. I came across this recipe and decided to give it a try. My quest is over. THIS IS THE BEST OF THE BEST ANd THE EASIEST! It Is creamy with the perfect amount of tart & sweetness. By the way, I use the regular limes and cannot tell the difference fom Key Limes which are difficult to find in my area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
As incredibly easy and delicious as others said. Just make sure to keep it to 20 fresh squeezed key limes and follow another baker's suggestion to use garlic press to squeeze the juice. Only modification was to use 1/2 vs. 1 tablespoon of lime zest. Topping off with whipped cream perfectly accents the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiCanCook
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
WOW! it is just so refreshing! I just added a table spoon extra of the sour cream because I was worried that the lime would come out too strong and i was PERFECT!!!! the whole pie went within minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura (Laurie) Chapman
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Sweet, tangy, creamy. Juuuust right. Note: zest is optional in my opinion, and I think the pie looks better w/o it. I think whipped cream on top is also optional. Try making mini pies like I did! :) Bake them for 5 minutes on a tray together (you can buy the mini pie crusts in packs of 6).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura (Laurie) Chapman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I have made this pie several times. I use 600 ml. (2 cans) of sweetened condensed milk and 5/8 of a cup of sour cream, plus the 3/4 cup of fresh lime juice and the zest of 1 lime. Everyone that has eaten this pie has admitted that it is the best key lime pie they have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Amazing pie! Sold at our church auction for $125. Shhh...secret recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made this key lime pie recipe exactly as described, except I made a homemade crust to go under it. It's absolutely delish; very sweet and very tart at the same time. Highly recommend if you are a hankering for key lime pie. In case you are wondering, there is a difference between key lime juice and just regular lime juice. Don't make this pie without the key lime juice, or it will be lacking some of the tartness one would expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,873) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States