Key Lime Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Laura (Laurie) Chapman
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Sweet, tangy, creamy. Juuuust right. Note: zest is optional in my opinion, and I think the pie looks better w/o it. I think whipped cream on top is also optional. Try making mini pies like I did! :) Bake them for 5 minutes on a tray together (you can buy the mini pie crusts in packs of 6).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura (Laurie) Chapman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I have made this pie several times. I use 600 ml. (2 cans) of sweetened condensed milk and 5/8 of a cup of sour cream, plus the 3/4 cup of fresh lime juice and the zest of 1 lime. Everyone that has eaten this pie has admitted that it is the best key lime pie they have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Amazing pie! Sold at our church auction for $125. Shhh...secret recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made this key lime pie recipe exactly as described, except I made a homemade crust to go under it. It's absolutely delish; very sweet and very tart at the same time. Highly recommend if you are a hankering for key lime pie. In case you are wondering, there is a difference between key lime juice and just regular lime juice. Don't make this pie without the key lime juice, or it will be lacking some of the tartness one would expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I made this for the first time last night and I 'm so glad I did. I had Mexican limes that came in my weekly food basket, so I used those and made a pretzel crust using coconut oil instead of butter. The crust complimented the creamy filling perfectly. This is my new 'go to' recipe for key lime pie. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SandyK811
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
It's very rare that I come across a recipe that's both a. Absolutely delicious and b. unbelievably easy to make. This is that recipe. (especially if you cheat like me and use a premade graham crust!) I found the amount of lime juice to be perfect. I didn't add zest to the filling because I thought the juice was enough upon tasting, but I did make some whipped cream with sugar, a dash of lime juice and vanilla and then grated some zest on top of that. I also garnished the pie with little lime slices. I used Nellie and Joe's bottled key lime juice....Jewel Osco carries it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyK811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I forgot to take a pic before I grabbed a slice. For how easy, fast, and simple this recipe is, I was amazed! Definitely try it, especially if you're a noobie to the baking world. Its amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This recipe was a hit at our house! I used two cans of fat-free sweetened condensed milk, 3/4 cup key west lime juice from the grocery store, and skipped the grated lime. I can't believe how simple this is, we will be making this quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
EXCELLENT! VERY RICH! I've made this pie on several occasions now - always to great success. The last time I made them I made a cinnamon graham cracker crust and used reduced fat condensed milk (2 cans is plenty). And, as we can't get key limes here I used Parisan limes. I upped the amount of lime juice to 1 cup and the zest of three limes (in the mix and as garnish). When I make these the only complaints I get are that I'm bringing them in to the office. The people here have no will power!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I've made this twice and it's very easy and forgivable if you don't have enough of a certain ingredient. The critisism is that it's a little too sweet. I made it today for my hubby and was about 1/2 c shy of 3c of the sweetened condensed milk and it was still too sweet. I think if I used the 2 cans of condensed milk (2.5 c) and 1 c sour cream (instead of 1/2 c) it would have been absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,847) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States