Key Lime Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This recipe is excellent. I've made it many times and now also use it for lemon meringue pies (substituting the same amount of lemon juice and zest for the lime). I especially like it that no condensed milk is required, so the fruit taste really stands out--cheaper and healthier without the condensed milk, too. Also, this meringue recipe is better than the one I used to make--simpler and never fails. Two tips: Make sure the filling doesn't look thin before you add it to the pie shell. If it does look thin, cook it a little longer at a slightly higher temperature until it has a pudding-like consistency. Second, make sure you clean your beaters thoroughly before doing the meringue, and see that they're cool. I put mine in the fridge (along with the bowl and utensils) until it's time to use them. You can also make the meringue first so that you don't have to clean the beaters, etc., before you use them to do the egg yolks. (If your kitchen is warm, put the bowl of meringue in the fridge until it's time to top the pie.) Anyway, thanks very much, Jack, for this great recipe. Can't wait to try it for orange, pineapple, and other fruit-juice pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I loved the taste of it - def more limey than the recipes using condensed milk but had a problem with the filling not setting. I increased the amount of flour and cornstarch but prob needed to add even more and reduce the amount of water. Will try again another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Came out great, everyone loved it. Very simple and easy to understand. Just need to remember to let the mixture boil completely to activate the corn starch. I realized my mistake before it was too late and everything turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Okay, first of all, it's true that the use of water instead of condensed milk really enhances the flavour of the lime. But what I can't understand is why the recipe states to add the lime juice after the rest of the filling is cooked. In my case, the filling was nice and thick up until this point, but the lime juice diluted it so much that it was like soup when I poured it into the pie shell, foolishly hoping that a brief stint in the oven would help it set. Well, it never set, even after a night in the refrigerator. But I hate to waste, so the next day, I poured out the filling, reheated it with a little more flour until it got thick, then poured it back into the pie shell and baked it again. This time it came out beautiful and perfectly set, even without refrigeration. So I would definitely recommend this recipe - just don't do what I did and pour in the filling unless it is thick enough to form ribbons when stirred. If it is too soupy, add more flour or cook it a little longer, but don't hope for it to set up in the oven, because it won't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I was looking for a low carb key lime pie with the more traditional meringue element, which is why I chose this one without sweetened condensed milk. At first I tried it with splenda instead of sugar but it just didn't set up right. (It still tasted good though!) For my second attemtpt I took the lime water suggestion from another reader one step further and used 1 cup diet lemon lime soda, 1 cup water and only a 1/2 cup sugar. The mixture was a little frothy in the beginning but thickened to look exactly like my first attempt. It was so so good this way. I also baked it without the crust both times, which worked fine, but I had to extend the cooking time a bit. I did this by turning off the oven after 10 min. and letting it sit for about 15 min more in the hot oven. It held it's shape well when chilled and served with a pie server.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Albarez
Home Town: Hagerstown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I've been trying many recipies for the perfect Key Lime Pie and I've got to say, this one is pretty good and quite easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbandale, Iowa, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I have no idea what I did wrong with this pie (or should I say soup). I made it for my boyfriend cause it's his favorite dessert. The meringue came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I made this tonight 12/30/06. It was good, it was alittle difficult but I got the hang of it. Only thing, do not have pie on top rack when cooking meringue. I burnt mine. Put under broiler and watch. That is how Mother made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Kay Spooner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Awesome! I'd never made meringue pie before, but this turned out great! The directions were very clear, so even a first-timer like me had no problem. I followed the advice of another reviewer and used lime-flavored water in place of the plain water. Everyone loved it; I'll definitely be making it again. EDIT: It's March 13 and I just tried this recipe again. I did the exact same things I did last time, but this time the meringue would not set. I don't know why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I thought this was great; a very pure and clear flavour as it's not combined with the condensed milk. I will admit, however, that I made a few changes for my own preferences. I like a graham cracker crust, so I used this instead of a plain baked shell. And I don't like meringue, no matter HOW it is made, so I omitted the meringue from my pie. Over all, an easy to follow recipe with excellent results and with a low cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States