Key Lime Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
A huge success! I had my trusty bottle of Kermit's Key Lime Juice with me, but I forgot to buy sweetened condensed milk. I felt that there HAD to be a recipe that didn't use it. How lucky that this one appeared as the top Google result! Warning: YOU MUST READ THE MOST POPULAR REVIEWS BEFORE MAKING THIS RECIPE. I made sure to cook the filling for quite a while, until it thickened well, and then I cooked it a total of five minutes longer after adding in the Key Lime Juice. ADVICE: keep tasting the filling (I used up lots of spoons and eventually forks!). At first it wasn't "limey" enough for me, and so I kept adding a bit more of the Key Lime Juice until it tasted just right for my friends. (If I were going to eat the pie all my myself, I would have added even more juice.) I had used up all my butter for the crust (I made a graham cracker crust, because it's my favorite), and so I didn't add butter to the filling. 2nd ADVICE: you don't need the butter! I also had no cream of tartar on hand, but guess what, if you whip the egg whites long enough, you don't need that either! (Remember to stop beating the eggs once they reach peak consistency.) 3rd ADVICE: I used only 3 T sugar in the meringue. It's not super easy to spread the meringue on the filling; it takes more time than frosting a cake. Be patient! FINAL ADVICE: Keep an eye on the pie once it's in the oven! Mine got too brown on top. I cut away the too-brown parts and it tasted fine. 5 out of 6 asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
We simly love it. I had to really search to find a recipe without sweetened condenced milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I actually doubled the lime juice and halved the sugar... tart and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Did set at all :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Key lime pie is one of my favorite types of pie and this one had an awesome flavor but it turned out more like a mush than an actual pie. Next time I will buy a premade crust instead of making my own because the extra moisture in the crust added to the mess up in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happylittlebaker96

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bella
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I tried this recipe twice. I used a flaky tart crust both times to keep it from being too sweet. I also used bottled lime juice both times and think fresh would have been better. The first time I followed the recipe and found I needed extra corn starch to thicken after adding the lime juice. It was also SO sweet that I threw it out and made a second one. The second time I used 1.5c water and 1c lime juice, plus added a half tablespoon extra corn starch in the beginning and it was MUCH better. I also made fresh whipped cream instead of the meringue as it was still very sweet. I guess in the end I just don't like my deserts sickly sweet, even with a zing of lime. Here's a picture prior to the whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
So the flavor of this pie was pretty good but mine DID NOT set up! No matter what I did it was just liquidy. I tried freezing it and it was set for a bit but after putting it in the fridge to keep it cold it un-set all over again. This could be because I was trying to make it Passover-safe (using potato starch instead of cornstarch and cake meal instead of flour) but sadly I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I loved this recipe and would absolutely recommend it to everyone! I made this exactly as written for Easter last year and didn't tell anyone that it was minus some of the traditional ingredients. I had raves from everyone who had a slice and some of the comments were, "This is the BEST key lime pie I have ever eaten!" I did not top it with meringue because I don't really care for meringue, I used a light whipped topping and it was scrumptious. Thank you, JACLYN, now I can have guilt free key lime pie anytime I want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This recipe was actually easy to follow. I had to use this one because I didn't have sweetened condensed milk, but had everything on this list! I added a drop of green food coloring to the filling mixture to make it more lime-colored. The pie was delicious!! Even my 12 year old sons liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Husband's favorite dessert, so I decided to make one totally from scratch for his birthday vs. buying one like usual, but wanted fewer calories than other recipes. I didn't have the greatest luck with this recipe. Besides being extremely labor intensive, used suggestion of doubling lime juice, attempting to hand squeeze all, but ended up filling the rest with store bought juice. Getting a T. of lime zest took a long time. Pudding didn't set over night, so had to spoon out of the shell, cooked longer adding 1/4 c. sugar because it was so tart, a little corn starch & water to thicken, fixed the setting problem, but it and the overly sweet meringue made it too rich for my preference. If I were to make again, I'd follow directions to a T, but would probably leave out the zest, cook the pudding longer the first time & cut the sugar for the meringue in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States