Key Lime Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Great recipies are usually the simple ones. (I do use 3 eggyolks and extra lime juice --Whatever the yield from 1/2 pound of FRESH limes and sometimes make meringue with the whites.) This is the same recipie I've always used for Lemon Ice Box Pie (with FRESH lemons, of course)--- Another southern favorite. I love all things citrus and usually add zest from the fresh fruit. Key limes are only available in my area for a short time during the year. Today I read the label on the one pound bag of key limes I bought at Fresh Market this week. "Coated with vegetable, petroleum, beeswax, and/or shellac based resin to maintain freshness" Uhhh..... No thanks! No zest in this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Easy and simple and when ever I make it I have to make two otherwise my whole family complains. I tweaked it a bit: bake at 350 for about 10 min./ or until little pin holes appear DO NOT LET IT BROWN, add key lime zest-this adds just a little more flavor, after it sets up my family and I prefer to have cool whip on it so I cover the entire thing in a layer of cool whip, if you want a really nice contrast (green to white) add a little foo coloring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lei-diggity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Simple and delicious! I have made more complex Key Lime Pies, but this recipe is so simple when in a rush! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alli b

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I only gave this 4 stars because there is a better version (in my opinion) that's similar but uses 4 egg yolks (not 2) and 1/2 cup bottled key lime juice (not 1/4 c). Then bake it @ 350 for 15 mins to firm it up. Let cool and serve with whipped cream. Everyone I serve it to says it's the best key lime they've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This is the same recipe as I use every time. It is so nice to only have 3 ingrediants. It is always a big hit! :0) Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is AUTHENTIC, tart and custardy, non fluffy, non gelatinous, non whipped cream slathered, non chiffon KEY LIME pie. For this to turn out in all it's KEY LIME tartiness, you absolutely must use Key lime juice...the two yolks is fine...an even better version I try is with a gingersnap crust made thusly: crush 32 crisp Gingersnap cookies in a plastic bag, add 1/4 granulated sugar and toss; pour in 1/3 cup melted butter and toss again so all crumbs are coated and turn out into a pie pan, pressing the crumbs up the sides and then flattening out the bottom. Proceed as normal with the KEY LIME juice/sweetened condensed milk/2 egg yolk mixture and bake at 350 for 15 minutes... The Gingersnap crust is to die for, paired with the tartness of the lime. Now my family requests this dessert everytime they are in town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was so delicious. We followed the recipe, omitting the egg yolks (only because of time constraints). It was light and refreshing, perfect for a hot summer evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Good but I'll have to try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
To make the pie, I always add 4 (rather than 3) egg yolks with the 14 oz. can of sweetened, condensed milk and beat the mixture until it approaches the fluffy stage. By hand, I then mix in 1/2 cup of freshly squeezed key lime juice (rather than 1/4), and I fold in a couple of tablespoons of the key lime zest. Without fail, the lime taste is distinct and clear. I make a deep dish graham cracker crust, and after adding the filling, I bake it at 350 degrees for about 12 minutes. I chill the pie in the refrigerator overnight, as I find it much more refreshing when served cold. I've tried this recipe...but I like mine much better. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This is the origional recipe for Key Lime Pie that Ziggie's Conch in the FL. keys served in the 70's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States