Key Lime Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
After I made this pie, I spoke w/ a friend who grew up in Key West...This is the same recipe her grandmother taught her!! Delicious!! I used the full 1/2 cup (w/ fresh limes we brought back from vacation) and it set up perfectly. I had my in-laws over for dinner for the first time since the wedding and served this for dessert...big hit! So good, and so easy... I'll be bringing this to a lot of potlucks/holiday dinners/office parties!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
It was wonderful! It doesn't set very well. I made it again with 1/3 lime juice, and was a lot firmer. WONDERFUL RECIPE!! It's gone quick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I liked this pie! So did my BBQ guests... Got many compliments! I read the reviews for this recipe before trying it and I was glad I did. I used Graham Cracker Crust III from this site as the crust, and then chilled it in the freezer after baking it. To prevent runny or juicy filling, I chilled the lime juice, condensed milk and eggs, so my lime mixture was cold, and poured into the cold piecrust, then put in the fridge. It set up very well after about one hour, but I let it chill for about 3 hours before making the meringe. (I like HIGH meringe, so I used seven egg whites.) After baking the meringe, I again chilled the pie for two hours. When sliced, it was very firm and well set. Pie was delicious! I would have liked it a little more tart lime flavored, I could taste the sweet condensed milk. But I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flying chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe. The first time I tried it, it didn't set very well at first. However, after being in the refrigerator all night, it held up well. The next time, I used only 1/3 cup of lime juice, and my husband said he liked it with more lime juice. Next time, we will up the lime juice and just let it set in the fridge for longer. The meringue recipe listed here did not work very well for me, so I used Meringue II from this site, which came out beautifully. Will definitely make this pie again using the meringue II recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
It is simply fantastic!!! The best I had. Whipped cream topping is also splendid with a little lime zest on top to garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This was a really delicious pie. It didn't set quite as firm as I'd hoped, I might cut the lime juice to 1/3 cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNNKYBUTT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Canaveral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I read the reviews and used less lime juice. It was great, but i suggest you let pie cool for about 2-3 hours before making the meringue and then cool overnight. That is the best way to get the pie to gel completely. Overall, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
i thought this was a great pie. not too tart or too sweet. it also works equally as well substituting lemon for the lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was a GREAT recipe. I cut back on the lime juice to 1/3 cup. My only suggestion is to let it cool after cooking for at least 3 hours. This will let it really set up well, and give it enough time to chill all the way through. I served it a little prematurely, and it got runnier faster. It was even better the second day. Everyone thought I was a master chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is an extremely flavourful pie! I used the full amount of lime juice called for and it set up beatifully in about an hour in the fridge. I didn't like the yellow-ish colour of the pie due to the eggs so I added a couple teeny drops of green food colouring to get the desired mint green shade (see my photo), I also used an OREO Cookie Crumb crust and although you would think an odd combination - it tasted fantastic! Citrus and Chocolate do go well together! Definitely a keeper of a recipe! I also only used 2 egg whites for the merengue as I don't like a ton of the stuff on my pies, I left a border of about an inch all the way around so you could see the pretty green colour contrasting with the Oreo Cookie crust. Thanks for the recipe! :) Very east to do and very pretty to look at!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States