Key Lime Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Amazing key lime pie! The consistency and flavor was dead on! I did make some adjustments to the cooling time. I let it sit in the fridge for 2 hours before I added the merengue and baked it. Then I let it sit overnight in the fridge before it was served. The lime filling was not runny at all, and it was the perfect consistency! I also made my own pie crust. Just followed the instructions on the back of the Honey Maid Graham Cracker Crumbs box and let the crust cool in the fridge for about a half hour before I filled it. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Fabulous key lime flavor. Worth all the easy effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe. The first time I tried it, it didn't set very well at first. However, after being in the refrigerator all night, it held up well. The next time, I used only 1/3 cup of lime juice, and my husband said he liked it with more lime juice. Next time, we will up the lime juice and just let it set in the fridge for longer. The meringue recipe listed here did not work very well for me, so I used Meringue II from this site, which came out beautifully. Will definitely make this pie again using the meringue II recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Spectacular recipe, one of the best I've tried! As for not setting firmly ^, I suggest leaving it in the freezer for 30 minutes-1 hour before serving. Cutting the lime juice is the obvious solution, but in my experience it comes out with too little lime flavor and simply tastes bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Firstly, I made it with the full half cup of key lime juice. It set beautifully. Though it did not have a strong tangy taste like I would have liked (too sweet), next time I will add more zest. I did not make the meringue and instead covered it with fresh whipped cream (not the cool whip stuff) mixed with more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This was the perfect key lime pie! My DH raved about this and gave it 5 stars. He said this was just like the key lime pie his mom used to make for him growing up in St Croix. I used Mexican key limes for this and doubled the filling, so I used about 2/3 a small bag of limes. It was a little tedious juicing all those itty bitty limes by hand, but oh, this was so worth it. To hear my DH and son rave about this was worth it. It was the perfect blend of tart and sweet, not one or the other. I used dried lemon peel in the spice jar instead of lime peel. ( A lot easier and you couldn't even tell it was there) I did cook this for approx. 25 minutes (until it was set) at 325 F. Thanks, Barbara, in my husbands words, this pie is awesome! I think he said that about 7 times while eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I first tried key lime pie two months ago in Honolulu and loved it. I saw this recipe while we in Honolulu and purchased the Graham crackers and the key lime juice. I made this key lime pie yesterday for guests. As suggested by a few of the other reviewers, I reduced the key lime juice to 1/3 of a cup. The pie turned out really well and was a big hit last night. The recipe was simple to follow and the pie looked and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
the meringue needs less sugar and it wasnt that great it didnt come out that firm at all. and i even cooked it twice as long. it was good but it didnt taste home made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This is one of the best recipes I have found. I do change it by using Lemon Juice and Lemon Zest, and by adding 1 t. of cream of tarter to the meringue. Excellent!!! Extremely Rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Living In: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I made one change, using ginger biscuits in the base instead of Graham crackers, ginger goes really well with lime. The lime layer set really well and the topping loked so good my husband thought it was shop bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States