Key Lime Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I have never had key lime pie so when my husband requested it I didn't know what to expect. This is amazing, so easy and so creamy and wonderful. Its a new favorite summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I liked this pie! So did my BBQ guests... Got many compliments! I read the reviews for this recipe before trying it and I was glad I did. I used Graham Cracker Crust III from this site as the crust, and then chilled it in the freezer after baking it. To prevent runny or juicy filling, I chilled the lime juice, condensed milk and eggs, so my lime mixture was cold, and poured into the cold piecrust, then put in the fridge. It set up very well after about one hour, but I let it chill for about 3 hours before making the meringe. (I like HIGH meringe, so I used seven egg whites.) After baking the meringe, I again chilled the pie for two hours. When sliced, it was very firm and well set. Pie was delicious! I would have liked it a little more tart lime flavored, I could taste the sweet condensed milk. But I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flying chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I had never had Key Lime Pie before. Then I went to Key West and everyone said to get some real Key Lime juice. So I did. Everyone bugged me to make the pies when I got home and I did. I tasted it and decided that I do not like Key Lime Pie that much. It's just not for me. However, I gave this recipe 5 stars because everyone else loved it. They raved about it. They said it was the best Key Lime Pie they ever had. So it must be pretty darn good to Key Lime Pie lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I was not happy with how it set or rather, didn't set. When I tried to put the meringue on I was dealing with a puddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Better than the recipe from the back of a Key West Key Lime Pie Co. lime juice bottle I bought in, you guessed it, Key West. But still wasn't as good as the pie I had there... Anyways, I added some zest to make it less sweet but my husband said it made it a little bitter. Just a preference thing, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This is now my staple Key Lime Pie recipe. It is SO good! I made it to bring to a dinner party and it was a huge hit. In order to cover the top of the pie, I ended up having to double the amount of meringue. I also let it set in the fridge for 2 hours instead of just 1 and didn't have any trouble with it being too runny. It is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Well, i cut a piece out to try and make all the juice come out and now i have a pie tin full of juice!! The pie is a little firmer, but it's all juicy! It still tastes delicious, but i think i may have to use only 1/3 cup juice next time. I don't want to skimp on the lime flavor so i think i may double the lime zest. I don't know if i did anything wrong with this recipe but i followed all of the directions! It looks like other people are having the same problems with this recipe. Still yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This pie works beautifully exactly as written IF you give it ample time to chill before serving. I make my own pie crust, 1 1/2 recipes of graham cracker crust to make the crust a little more substantial and to make the flavor hold up against the strong lime flavor. PERFECTION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Amazing key lime pie! The consistency and flavor was dead on! I did make some adjustments to the cooling time. I let it sit in the fridge for 2 hours before I added the merengue and baked it. Then I let it sit overnight in the fridge before it was served. The lime filling was not runny at all, and it was the perfect consistency! I also made my own pie crust. Just followed the instructions on the back of the Honey Maid Graham Cracker Crumbs box and let the crust cool in the fridge for about a half hour before I filled it. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Fabulous key lime flavor. Worth all the easy effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States