Key Lime Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
FANTASTIC! My husband loved The Blonde Giraffe's key lime pie in Key West so I wanted to surprise him with a homemade one. I followed the recipe exactly and it was divine! I made a homemade graham cracker crust because I think they are better. I also doubled the meringue topping because I LOVE MERINGUE. Make this pie...you don't be disappointed! It tasted just like the real thing in Key West. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is an extremely flavourful pie! I used the full amount of lime juice called for and it set up beatifully in about an hour in the fridge. I didn't like the yellow-ish colour of the pie due to the eggs so I added a couple teeny drops of green food colouring to get the desired mint green shade (see my photo), I also used an OREO Cookie Crumb crust and although you would think an odd combination - it tasted fantastic! Citrus and Chocolate do go well together! Definitely a keeper of a recipe! I also only used 2 egg whites for the merengue as I don't like a ton of the stuff on my pies, I left a border of about an inch all the way around so you could see the pretty green colour contrasting with the Oreo Cookie crust. Thanks for the recipe! :) Very east to do and very pretty to look at!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was very good. It set fine for me, but I cooked it a little longer than suggested and let it refrigerate for a few hours before I cut it. Next time I would use a little less juice. It was a little tart for my taste, but otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This pie didn't set at all. I left it in the frig for a couple of hours and when I cut inot it it was just a mushy mess. I ended up throwing it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Definitely let the pie set up overnight, and do not use less lime juice. Excellent pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Wonderful! I used a little more lime juice and made sure it was in refrigerator well before serving so it had time to set. Zest made it pretty and taste better. Used 5 egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was good. The 2 egg meringue was a little skimpy. I will use more egg whites next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyousblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I love this recipe and make it yearly, if not more frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This was a HIT with the Family. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debram

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This pie was very quick and easy to make, but guests and I found it to be a bit too bitter. The zest gave just a little too much bite. I would make it again, but decrease the amount of lime zest used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States