Key Lime Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very good! I cant compare it because this was the first time making and tasting Keylime pie. I did take other reviewers advice and only use 1/3 lime juice and left in the fridge for over 3hrs before putting it in the oven and waited till the next day before cutting it and it help very well. Thanks, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cuteacher22
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
excellent!! first key lime pie i've ever made and was very much impressed, as well as my boyfriend and friends! no change to the recipe, it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I followed the recipe as directed, except I made a meringue with three vs. two egg whites for a fluffier topping. I refrigerated the pie for 90 minutes before baking, then let stand overnight before cutting, and had no issues with it being runny. There was a little bit of juice at the bottom when I cut into each piece of the pie, but it's a homemade pie, and it didn't detract at all; I think it's probably supposed to be like that. The combination of 1/2 c. lime juice and sweetened milk was perfect. This pie was so easy, and even with just a prepared graham cracker crust, it was truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was delicious! I read the other reviews and found that many stated the pie did not set enough. So when I made it I added 1/2 an envelope of vanilla instant pudding (small box) to the mix and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I was a little nervous about trying this recipe because some people were having problems getting it to set. I made the filling and then let it set in the fridge for about two hours before doing the meringue. The only things I changed in the recipe was doubling the amount of lime zest and doing 4 egg whites instead of two for the meringue. Turned out really well. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very good and easy to make. I made this my request of my young nephew who was coming over for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was my first key lime pie and it was absolutely amazing. The graham cracker crust was so easy. I did as the other reviewers suggested and let the lime filling set for 24 hours in the fridge- WOW was it worth it. Astounding flavour for almost no work at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
FANTASTIC! My husband loved The Blonde Giraffe's key lime pie in Key West so I wanted to surprise him with a homemade one. I followed the recipe exactly and it was divine! I made a homemade graham cracker crust because I think they are better. I also doubled the meringue topping because I LOVE MERINGUE. Make this pie...you don't be disappointed! It tasted just like the real thing in Key West. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is an extremely flavourful pie! I used the full amount of lime juice called for and it set up beatifully in about an hour in the fridge. I didn't like the yellow-ish colour of the pie due to the eggs so I added a couple teeny drops of green food colouring to get the desired mint green shade (see my photo), I also used an OREO Cookie Crumb crust and although you would think an odd combination - it tasted fantastic! Citrus and Chocolate do go well together! Definitely a keeper of a recipe! I also only used 2 egg whites for the merengue as I don't like a ton of the stuff on my pies, I left a border of about an inch all the way around so you could see the pretty green colour contrasting with the Oreo Cookie crust. Thanks for the recipe! :) Very east to do and very pretty to look at!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was very good. It set fine for me, but I cooked it a little longer than suggested and let it refrigerate for a few hours before I cut it. Next time I would use a little less juice. It was a little tart for my taste, but otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States