Key Lime Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Had a weird taste. My son said it tasted like raw egg. I thought it kind of strange that we didn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I used 1/3 cup key lime juice, and 3 tbsp sugar for the meringue. It didn't set after 15 min at 350 degrees so I decided to bake it for another half hour at 250 degrees. It turned out to be nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Great Key Lime flavor and very easy to make. I used 3 egg whites for my meringue because 2 just didn't seem like enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I was devastated when I lost my recipe for key lime because I never thought I would find one the same, turns out I could. Very good, very traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sonora, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I have low baking and cooking skills. I am very pleased, no...tickled with how my pie turned out! I will make it again, and again as key lime pie is my absolute favorite! I will say that next time I will skip the meringue altogether; I'm just not a fan of meringue. I allowed the pie to chill for 3 to 5 hours before baking it with the meringue and then another 3 to 5 before eating it. Cutting it straight from the fridge, it was a tad running. I think it may set better overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
My wife made this and it was FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great recipe, i was looking for a more tart one and this is it. I don't want a rich overly sweet key lime pie. The meringue was easy--- i used egg whites at room temp with a mixer and a 1/2 teaspoon of white vinegar in place of cream of tartar (internet recommendation), got good peaks, came out great. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bulldogamd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This pie is delicious. I'm in agreement with the other reviewers who recommend slightly reducing the amount of lime juice to firm up the filling and reduce the amount of juice that leaks out when you slice the pie. I also recommend chilling the pie overnight--the flavors were better the second day. One more change, suggested by another reviewer--I used the Meringue II recipe on this website for the meringue portion of the recipe-probably the most fool-proof meringue recipe out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Wow...really simple to make and so delicious! The sweet and sour flavors are well balanced and the light merengue on top is the best!! I made mine with a homemade, flaky crust since I didn't have graham crackers and it's still delicious. Will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgsilvis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States