Key Lime Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This was very good. I used all key lime juice instead of half lime & lemon juices. I also left out the green food coloring. Real key lime pie doesn't have a green color. I also used some fresh lime zest for a little extra kick. It was a very quick & easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
EXQUISITE! My husband is peculiar about his key lime pie and this one got a thumbs up from him. It's ridiculously simple and tastes divine. I wasn't even a fan of key lime pie till I tasted this version. Fabulous recipe...THANKS. (I used a shortbread crust...tasted perfect.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKNIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altavista, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
This pie was great... the second day. It needs some time for the tastes to mingle. When I served it originally, it tasted pretty much like eating straight sweetened condensed milk. Save some whipped cream as topping - you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Unfortunately my husband and I were not impressed with this pie. Overall the sweetened condensed milk over powered the taste of the pie. It was definitely easy to prepare and a kid friendly recipe to get them involved in. Our 5 yr old son loved it but I think it was because he was able to prepare most of the pie and was impressed with how the food coloring turned the mixture green. Next time I will definitely opt for a key lime pie recipe that is baked to help break down the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My experience making this recipe turned into an adventure. I thought that I had a reasonable expectation that I would be able to get 8 tablespoons of juice out of 30 key limes. I prefer Persian limes, believe me. Key limes are a headache. After 40 minutes of cutting, seeding and prodding all the juice I could out of the critters, I only had 4 tablespoons of juice. I had no other source of juice in the house, and time wouldn't permit a trip to the store. So! I decided that I would use some lemon drink powder and water to make up the difference. Well, of course, the water foiled the effect of the condensed milk and juice combination, yielding a watery filling. I decided to add 4 egg yolks, and baked it for about 40 minutes at 350. The pie was just great! Since it was for company, it was a breath holding experience, but turned out nicely. Don't know that I would recommend doing this exactly, but just thought I'd share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Garrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
3 & and 1/2 stars. After reading reviews I doubled the key lime juice & was glad I did. It's good but SO SWEET. It firms up to a nice creamy, sturdy consistency though, especially if you pop in the freezer for a few minutes BEFORE the fridge. Not quite as good as Key Lime Pie VII but better than Key Lime Pie I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nora
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I made this pie for Father's Day, and everybody who had some loved it, the only thing I changed, was that I used all lime juice instead of half lemon and half lime and made my own crust, using one package of graham crackers, 1/3 cup melted butter and 1/4 cup sugar possessed and then packed down into to pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
This recipe has the distinct disadvantage of following the most amazing key lime restaurant pie I've ever had (Charleston's) a few weeks ago. The filling mixture is just fine, but not stupendous. I printed the recipe, bought the groceries and supervised and my wife and mother-in-law made the pie. My wife gave it a 6 on a 1 to 10 scale, which I thought was just about right. The recipe's major advantage is ease of preparation. It's quick and easy. I prefer "real" pie crust, but my wife wanted gram cracker crust (If mama ain't happy ....). Still, it *would* have been better with the real stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Good recipe for when you are in a hurry. However, it was not as good as baked Key Lime Pie. Also, I did not add the food coloring due to the fact that Key Limes are yellow not green. I will make this recipe again when time is a factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
This was so easy to make. It was light and tasty. I'm pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States