Key Lime Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I thought this was awesome! I used all key lime juice instead of lemon, and left out the unnecessary food coloring. I also whipped 2 cups of cream and after folding in one cup to the mixture, I slathered a coating of the whipped cream over the top of the pie. Then I grated fresh lime zest over the top. Beautiful and delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Quick, smooth, delicious! I used all fresh lime juice with a bit of zest and no food coloring and it was excellent. I used fat free sweetened condensed milk and am going to try to make this same basic pie with a lot less calories. As I made it, this pie has a whopping 1900 calories total. But it is absolutely delicious and a very authentic Key Lime Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Georgetown, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This is simple and delicious! I omitted the food coloring, and it still turned out a lovely pale green color. I also used a graham cracker crust and it was so decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
It was pretty good. It was really easy to make, but I found there was too much lime and lemon juice, if I were to make it again, I would reduce the amount. I didn't use any food colouring, and I had a graham cracker crust. It was good, but a little too sour for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
it was indeed an easy recipe especially for me since it was my first try . however , i added the zest of a key lime and of a lemon. when i tasted the batter i could still taste the condensed milk. so i added 4 more tablespoons of key like juice. turned out exactly as i wanted !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nora
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I made this pie for Father's Day, and everybody who had some loved it, the only thing I changed, was that I used all lime juice instead of half lemon and half lime and made my own crust, using one package of graham crackers, 1/3 cup melted butter and 1/4 cup sugar possessed and then packed down into to pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is a great and easy recipe! I used a pre-made graham crust and instead of the lemon and lime I simply used the contents of a full plastic lime (125ml or 1/2 cup lime juice.) Chilled for 3 hours and it was perfect! My husband (the typical "my mom doesn't make it that way" guy), loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Very easy to make, even including making my own Pate Sucree (rich sweet pastry) pie case. Didn't have any condensed milk to hand but used 400ml of evaporated milk that I needed to use up and it thickened perfectly. Needed a good dredging of icing sugar on the top though to counter the fact that the milk wasn't sweetened. I also used all lime juice (probably Persian limes as I live in the UK) as I had rather too many limes to use up! Didn't bother with the food colouring but I would recommend that you add something if it's for company as otherwise it goes the sort of beige of the milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Great pie to take to party or office and very easy to make. I used cool whip instead of heavy cream, used a lot more lime juice and squeezed real lime w/it, used the remaining cool whip as topping. Stuck it in the freezer for 1/2 hour - too to event and people RAVED over this pie. Thanks for an easy quickie Key Lime recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This was very good. I used all key lime juice instead of half lime & lemon juices. I also left out the green food coloring. Real key lime pie doesn't have a green color. I also used some fresh lime zest for a little extra kick. It was a very quick & easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States