Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is a nice and light key lime pie recipe. I used to make key lime pie with egg yolks only and it was much heavier and more custardy. The first time I made this pie I didn't freeze it and the filling was too soft (about the consistency of whipped cream - light and fluffy but didn't taste like a pie). Now I always freeze it to make it firmer and I serve it right out of the freezer. The texture is perfect - exactly what you'd expect for a key lime pie but without all the extra egg yolks. It's a great recipe for summer since it's cold like ice cream. I wouldn't recommend using this recipe if you don't plan on freezing it. I also chose to use a pre-made pie crust because graham crackers have high fructose corn syrup while the pre-made pie crust does not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Everybody loved this pie. Out of the eight pies I made this one definitely went the fastest. Super easy, too. I've tried key lime before and have a hard time having them set up, but this one was perfectly firm. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Great pie - filling could be a bit lighter. I added more a bit more whipped egg whites to the second one I made and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimball, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waverly, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Made this for the first time for Thanksgiving. It was well received, everyone ate a piece, but it wasn't a 'lover' of anyone. Everyone loved the homemade crust, but the lime was a little to overwhelming. We weren't able to find the key lime juice anywhere, so ended up squeezing a bag of fresh key limes (very hard and tedious due to their size). If you want it to be the traditional green, make sure you add dye in the batter, otherwise its yellow. If it wasn't for hand-squeezing the limes, it would've been a very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
simple but very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
a great dessert...so easy and everyone wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Absolutely the best key lime pie recipe for ease and taste. Thanks Irene you rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
My husband loved this, though he said the crust is always better if you pulverize some walnuts in with the graham crackers. I agree :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
i know the freezer thing seems weird - but you totally have to freeze it - it is awesome! The whipped topping isn't even really necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was a nice key lime pie. It wasn't stiff or jelly-like as some Key-lime pies are, so I enjoyed it. I did find that the lime flavour was not as strong as I would have liked. Perhaps in the future I'll add some grated lime to the pie. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States