Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This is a lighter key lime pie, not as dense as most. You basically get all of the flavor without much of the guilt, which is perfect. I'll definitely be making this again! My notes on the recipe: I made some adjustments to the crust as well. I eliminated the sugar, and like other reviewers, I reduced the butter to 4T, or 1/4 cup. For the rest of the recipe, I followed the directions as written, except I added 1 tsp grated lime zest. I allowed the pie to cool for 30 minutes before placing it in the refrigerator for an hour. I then froze the pie for one hour before serving, and the consistency was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I'm usually not a fan of lemon or lime flavored thing, but this pie was very good! Waiting for it to freeze is crucial for the consistency to be right. We used cool whip instead of heavy whipping cream for the decorative topping, and it worked out just fine, probably even easier to do. This pie is a perfect summer treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anguye52

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
My husband lived in Florida for many years and is a key lime pie aficionado. I have tried many recipes over the years, and none have succeeded, until now. I used a regular pie crust instead of a graham cracker crust, and I also added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and 3 tbs of powdered sugar to the whipped cream topping. He is absolutely thrilled! Thanks IRENED for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Schuster Altmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Excellent! I did add a pinch of salt to the crust and some lime zest to the top. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Made this yesterday for Easter and it was absolutely fabulous. I made it exactly like it called for...just put out on the counter about 45 min before eating to dethaw. I also added a bit of green food coloring as I don't like the "yellow" color or key lime pie. Everyone loved it and said it was the best they ever had! Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
i have made this pie many many times. Everyone loves this pie. it really is the best key lime pie i have ever tasted. The only thing i change is that i need more grahm crackers. I use about a 1/2 cup more. i also add another tablesoon of butter to the crust. The only problem ive been having recently, is that the crust sticks to the bottom. i have tried many ways, but i cant seem to make it not stick. but the crust is what makes this pie so amazing im not going to change it :) definately worth the hassle. id like to address the reviews where people were saying this pie was light and airey. It is not, i dont know why your pie was doing that, but mine always come out smooth and creamy. i dont use fresh lime juice, i use key lime juice from a bottle that i buy at the grocery, ive never tried it with any other kind of lime juice or fresh limes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Not my most favorite, but it was good. It was a bit too cheese like for my taste. Not so silky & creamy. Good lime flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woods Cross, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Oh my goodness this was good! All tasters rated it a keeper. We couldn't wait to try it, so we had some on the same day it was made, and finished it off the next day. There was unanimous agreement - wait until day 2 to eat it. As others have said, the flavor is much better if you have the patience to wait! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I am not an expert on the key lime pie, but husband said it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Great recipe! Two things though...the crust turns out a bit thin, so it is best to double the recipe, and I added a tablespoon of sugar to the topping to sweeten it up a bit as it is a little bland on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States