Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Solo le falla un poco el merengue (Translation: The meringue was lacking a little something.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Maybe I'm doing something wrong, or maybe I'm not used to "real" Key Lime pie. It wasn't "light" to me at all - too rich for my tastes. I couldn't get over the fact that I was essentially just eating eggs, condensed milk and lime juice. Doesn't sound appetizing when you put it that way - haha. Maybe I'm a wuss, but I'm going to try again later with pudding or something mixed in to give it more substance. Also - after only a day or so, it started "oozing" which looks REALLY gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sporkism

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stilwell, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
If you are looking for something light, fluffy and delicious- this is it! I used 1 1/2 cans condensed milk; 2/3 key lime juice; 3 jumbo egg yolks (no whole eggs); and folded in 2 whipped egg whites. I added 1 ounce of lime jello for color and extra flavor. Wonderful! (I did not freeze it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLA Deb
Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I have eaten this pie 3 times made by various cooks. Everyone who tries it loves it and wants the recipe. Even the inexperienced baker had an excellent result getting rave reviews. Everyone followed the recipe obsessively. The only think I noticed is there was a difference in the "lime" taste between the pies despite each using the same amount. No one used key limes and so I think some limes have different intensities than others. In any case this is an awesome pie and everyone who tries it loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Very nice flavor. Not too sweet, but sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merrittorious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I made this pie, based on the reviews of others. It was the first one I'd ever made and turned out great! My In-laws thought it was the best pie she'd ever had. I would definitely use this recipe again. The only thing I changed was I used a store bought pie crust and I didn't use whip cream; served it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
What a great recipe. Unlike other key lime pies I have made, this one is really light, and it lets you enjoy the flavor without making a sour face. I used a 1/2 cup of lime(regular lime) and a 1/4 cup of lemon and the flavor was perfect. I also didn't put mine in the freezer, just in the fridge until it was time to devour. Another nice touch is fresh raspberries on top or puree them drizzle on the plate. Keylime and raspberries is a classic compbo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tkkash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Good and tart. Almost foamy in texture. It doesn't say what to do with the pinch of salt so I added it when I added the cream of tarter. I don't know why you would freeze this unless you wanted to keep it for awhile before you served it because it's much better in the refrigerator and the crust stays together better when it isn't frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Great recipe! I used a homemade pastry crust instead of the graham cracker crust. It turned out delicious. I served it at a family gathering and they all stated it was a great pie, and we should know...we are all from Key West.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Excellent. Made it for Easter and got raves - I am just sad there were no left overs! I made 1.5 times the crust and used a 9 inch removable bottom tart pan - cook the crust a couple of minutes longer. It was beautiful. Topped with whipped cream and limes - perfect spring colors and awesome taste. I will be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States