Key Lime Pie - Low Carb Version Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
All things considered, I think this turned out very well. You can really only do so much for lo-carb recipe variations though so don't expect perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Wilder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Valley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I made this recipe at the same time that I was making real Key Lime Pie for everyone else. I don't like real Key Lime Pie, but this is noting like it. It's nice and sweet with a soft cheesecake-like texture. It was very yummy. I loved the crust. I am going to use that crust more often for other pies that I make. I will also try this pie with different flavors of Jell-o. Don't eat too much of it though. It may be low-carb and that's great, but it's very fatty. Pecans are fatty, so is cream cheese, and heavy cream of course. I just ate a piece and now I'm headed to the Gym.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I wasn't thrilled. Like other reviewers I thought that the lime was overwhelming, and the consistency was just too weird. I may have had my hopes up too high...to be fair, this IS low carb and for someone who needs to give up sugar, this could fill a craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLDOOIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I have made it both with sweet-n-lo and splenda. It is GOOD either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
After having no sweets for weeks, I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I first tried it with strawberry/banana jello because I live out of country and it was the only flavor of sugar free to be found. I thought it tasted a bit like a banana split! When a visiting friend brought the lime jello, I made it with lime and found it to be excellent. It is not going to rival REAL key lime pie, but if sugar and flour have been banished from your eating plan, this makes a very satisfying substitution. (We also don't have coconut extract. I've been using vanilla most of the time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I thought it was just ok. The flavor was decent, but the lime flavor overpowered the coconut extract so I couldn't tell at all that I had put coconut flavoring in it. The pie was also very very dense like cheesecake. It did not have the consistency of actual key lime pie, which was what I was hoping for. Not horrible, but I don't think I'll ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
I used vanilla, instead of the coconut. The flavor was excellent. I think next time I'll make more of the crust, so it's thicker. Thanks for the recipe! My low carb husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
I found this to be just ok. The cream cheese flavor was overwelming. I enjoyed the crust, but I think it might be better if the crust is baked for a little while to roast the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
tasted too tangy. I thought the pie wasnt sweet enough.The crust is better baked with more sweetner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Great recipe with a few minor changes... added half the amount of jello (too sweet and tangy otherwise) and I used raspberry (my fav.) instead. Wonderful with heavy whipped topping on top... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States