Key Lime Pie - Low Carb Version Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Wonderful recipe idea, however I changed up the recipe just a bit. Instead of regular cream cheese I used cheesecake flavored cream cheese. I also added splenda brown sugar to the crust recipe instead of the regular splenda. I made this using sugar free cherry jello since my husband loves cherries and he LOVED IT! I even topped the pie with sugar free cherry pie filling and it turned out great! The pie consistancy was very light and smooth. (You definitely have to allow the jello to completely dissolve though because it gels quickly and makes chucks.) I will definitely try this recipe with other flavors and the crust recipe is a definite keeper! I plan to try that crust with other no bake pie recipes in the future. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lioness357

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Great recipe! I would recommend to anyone who is watching the carbs. I did double the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Pretty good...nice and tart. Lots of flavor makes up for lack of carbs. Didn't really like the crust. Might make only half so it isn't so thick next time. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Very good recipe (especially when you have forgone sugar for a while and are craving something sweet!) The only problem I found with this one is that it really was too sweet. (That's coming from someone with a sweet-tooth, too!) I could only manage a small slice before the taste just got too overwhelming. I absolutely adored the crust, though! Very good for "low-carbers" to have this basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
All things considered, I think this turned out very well. You can really only do so much for lo-carb recipe variations though so don't expect perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Wilder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Valley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I made this recipe at the same time that I was making real Key Lime Pie for everyone else. I don't like real Key Lime Pie, but this is noting like it. It's nice and sweet with a soft cheesecake-like texture. It was very yummy. I loved the crust. I am going to use that crust more often for other pies that I make. I will also try this pie with different flavors of Jell-o. Don't eat too much of it though. It may be low-carb and that's great, but it's very fatty. Pecans are fatty, so is cream cheese, and heavy cream of course. I just ate a piece and now I'm headed to the Gym.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I wasn't thrilled. Like other reviewers I thought that the lime was overwhelming, and the consistency was just too weird. I may have had my hopes up too high...to be fair, this IS low carb and for someone who needs to give up sugar, this could fill a craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLDOOIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I have made it both with sweet-n-lo and splenda. It is GOOD either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
After having no sweets for weeks, I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I first tried it with strawberry/banana jello because I live out of country and it was the only flavor of sugar free to be found. I thought it tasted a bit like a banana split! When a visiting friend brought the lime jello, I made it with lime and found it to be excellent. It is not going to rival REAL key lime pie, but if sugar and flour have been banished from your eating plan, this makes a very satisfying substitution. (We also don't have coconut extract. I've been using vanilla most of the time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I thought it was just ok. The flavor was decent, but the lime flavor overpowered the coconut extract so I couldn't tell at all that I had put coconut flavoring in it. The pie was also very very dense like cheesecake. It did not have the consistency of actual key lime pie, which was what I was hoping for. Not horrible, but I don't think I'll ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States