Key Lime Pie - Low Carb Version Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Not very good. The gelatin made the cream cheese lose its creaminess. I thought I'd be eating something light and fluffy, similar to cheesecake, but it had a weird, thick texture and kind of a "salty" flavor. It was hard to eat one piece and that's saying something coming from someone who is stuck on a low-carb diet and adores dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Pretty good! I was dieing for some sweets on a gestational diabetes diet. I ate the whole thing myself :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I made this for my mother who is on a low-carb diet and loves Key Lime pie. I took others suggestions and omitted 1 pkt of splenda in the crust. The pie tasted like a lime cheesecake to me. My mother said it was not sweet enough for her, which surprised me after everyone said it was too sweet! She also mentioned it a little too thick, but overall a good substitution for those who are craving a Key Lime pie and can't have the carbs. It only made enough crust to cover the bottom of my pie plate and not the sides. Needs some whipped topping on top. I feel other jello flavors would taste just as nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatekisses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Wonderful recipe idea, however I changed up the recipe just a bit. Instead of regular cream cheese I used cheesecake flavored cream cheese. I also added splenda brown sugar to the crust recipe instead of the regular splenda. I made this using sugar free cherry jello since my husband loves cherries and he LOVED IT! I even topped the pie with sugar free cherry pie filling and it turned out great! The pie consistancy was very light and smooth. (You definitely have to allow the jello to completely dissolve though because it gels quickly and makes chucks.) I will definitely try this recipe with other flavors and the crust recipe is a definite keeper! I plan to try that crust with other no bake pie recipes in the future. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lioness357

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Great recipe! I would recommend to anyone who is watching the carbs. I did double the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Pretty good...nice and tart. Lots of flavor makes up for lack of carbs. Didn't really like the crust. Might make only half so it isn't so thick next time. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Very good recipe (especially when you have forgone sugar for a while and are craving something sweet!) The only problem I found with this one is that it really was too sweet. (That's coming from someone with a sweet-tooth, too!) I could only manage a small slice before the taste just got too overwhelming. I absolutely adored the crust, though! Very good for "low-carbers" to have this basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
All things considered, I think this turned out very well. You can really only do so much for lo-carb recipe variations though so don't expect perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Wilder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Valley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I made this recipe at the same time that I was making real Key Lime Pie for everyone else. I don't like real Key Lime Pie, but this is noting like it. It's nice and sweet with a soft cheesecake-like texture. It was very yummy. I loved the crust. I am going to use that crust more often for other pies that I make. I will also try this pie with different flavors of Jell-o. Don't eat too much of it though. It may be low-carb and that's great, but it's very fatty. Pecans are fatty, so is cream cheese, and heavy cream of course. I just ate a piece and now I'm headed to the Gym.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I wasn't thrilled. Like other reviewers I thought that the lime was overwhelming, and the consistency was just too weird. I may have had my hopes up too high...to be fair, this IS low carb and for someone who needs to give up sugar, this could fill a craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLDOOIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States