Key Lime Pie - Low Carb Version Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I loved it and I really didn't think it was too sweet as some reviewers mentioned. Next time I think I will up the heavy cream from 1/2 to 1 cup. I would prefer the creaminess overpower the jello-ness. I think I might even experiment with different flavored sugar free gelatins....orange first as I like the orange and cream idea. Also, I substituted vanilla for the coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
thought this was great, but needed a little modification for me. needs a little key lime juice and maybe 1/2 another pack of lime jello. had just a little too much cream cheese taste. more lime will fix that. loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I'm sad to say that this wasn't very good. I was hoping for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I loved the crust, however I wasn't too happy with the filling, I didn't have coconut flavoring but used vanilla. I ended up tossing it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chyan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Crust: I made it with 2 cups of ground up almonds instead of pecans. I skipped the coconut extract (just not my thing) and substituted Fresca soda for the cold water for some more citrus flavor. Also added some lime juice. The consistency was great, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmyCeltic
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I was very happy to find a Low Carb version for pie! I am not a lover of Key Lime Pie, but I could not resist, since I have not been able to have a piece of pie since I started my Low Carb Diet to reduce my blood sugar, as I am Diabetic. This was amazing! I love the Pecan Crust, that was my favorite part, and I will be using it to make other kinds of pie. I am trying to figure out a way to make a Coconut Cream Pie! I think I beat the cream too long, because my pie came out a bit 'tough' but it was still delicious! The Coconut was a definate show stopper! Yummy! It is very rich, so I was only able to have 2 pieces (I saved up my carbs all day so I could really go crazy, but it was too rich, and that is not a bad thing). I thought that crust and the pie could have had more Splenda added to them, as they were not sweet enough for me, but I like things sweet. All in all this was an excellent experiment, and I am going to have fun making as many different things as I can from this! For Low Carbers out there like me, it is a definate winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyCeltic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I've never had the real deal, but this was enjoyed by both low carbers, and carbaholics alike. I've made this twice, using cool whip the first time because it was what i had on hand. The real heavy cream is better, but both ways are good. Also used, as suggested by others, vanilla instead of coconut extract, and added the juice of 3 key limes to the jello mixture. Hard to mess up as i added two cups of water the first time and it was still good (more of a marshmallow texture)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdventurousSpatula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This has been one of the best sugar free treats I have had. I've made it twice, and liked my modifications to make it more tart. Modified: vanilla instead of coconut; sour cream instead of heavy cream (just mix in with cheese); half the package of jello; and added juice and zest of one lime. Almost like real key lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Not very good. The gelatin made the cream cheese lose its creaminess. I thought I'd be eating something light and fluffy, similar to cheesecake, but it had a weird, thick texture and kind of a "salty" flavor. It was hard to eat one piece and that's saying something coming from someone who is stuck on a low-carb diet and adores dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Pretty good! I was dieing for some sweets on a gestational diabetes diet. I ate the whole thing myself :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States