Key Lime Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This tasted just like the filling in a key lime pie. Next time I would only use half the lemon zest because it was a little too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Superb!! Outstanding. We loved this recipe. Used 1 1/4 cup half and half along with 1cup whipping cream. Took 3 fresh limes to make the juice and then I added a splash of lemon juice to get the full amount. We will be making this again and again! As a bonus we made merigue cookies with the leftover egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I made this recipe as written, with the exception of omitting the 2 eggs, just using the yolks. The texture was beautiful ~ creamy, smooth and rich. My only issue was with the level of tartness. I would reduce the lime juice to 1/2 cup and also add a good pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I love this ice cream but I modified it the second time around to make it creamier and take the bite out of the tart. I used 1 cup whole milk and 1 1/4 cup half and half it turned out so creamy and it took the edge off the tartness. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Came out great but only because I didn't follow the instructions at all... Mix the egg mixture in a bowl. Bring the CREAM mixture to a boil, then slowly wisk hot cream into the egg mixture. Transfer back to the pot and heat slowly, stirring constantly until the mixture thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon. Cool and freeze in an ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Haven't tried this yet, (thus making my rating somewhat moot, but you have to put one) but it's next in line. I'm supposing that, since it's key lime ice cream, key lime juice is intended. I don't know what "half and half cream" is- I'll try just half and half, seems like enough eggs for that to work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janice
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
We really liked this ice cream. It's really creamy and refreshing. We made a few changes. We used both sweetened lime juice (1/2 cup) and lemon juice (1/4 cup). We didn't have lemon zest, so we omitted that. If we were to make it again, we would probably decrease the sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I just bought an ice cream freezer and have been trying several ice cream recipes for it. This one is by far my favorite! Great blend of tart and sweet flavor. Creamy, rich texture. The only change I made was in adding crumbled graham crackers the last few minutes of freezing. It makes it tastes a little more like key lime pie and gives it a little crunch as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was good but I feel it could be even better. I didn't change anything except I only added 3 yolks instead of 4. I love tart and it was a little too tart even for me but that could be the limes I was using. Also, the final product was not as creamy as I would have liked. I'll use a combo of half and half and cream next time. Honestly, the custard was better than the finished ice cream! I also added graham cracker pieces to make it more like pie ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Needed an ice cream recipe to use lemons from my lemon tree. Used the juice and "zest" from 4 large lemons and WOW! it was perfect! Very tangy, just like we wanted. Might try it without the egg yolks next time to see if it makes it less custardy, but for someone that really doesn't like custard, I REALLY liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States