Key Lime Daiquiri Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
While this cake certainly had it's good points, overall I was a little disappointed. The flavor was certainly delicate, and would have appreciated a stronger lime taste. Maybe next time I will double the amount of lime zest I put in. The glaze was delicious, but I think I would also double the amount of glaze to make the cake more flavorful overall. As per other reviews, the cake was actually ready after about 75 minutes. It was a little dry I felt also. Sour cream as a replacement for milk may remedy this. I think I will try again and make some alterations as the cake does have potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I made this cake for my grandaughter's 18th birthday. She wanted a mexican meal and this cake was perfect for dessert. My daughter-in-law said this cake was refreshing. It is a pound cake with a light but distinguished flavor. It is added to my recipe box, a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
My boyfriend really enjoys key lime pies, so I put this together for him. Great recipe! Reminds me of my grandmother's pound cake, but with a key lime zing. He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
My family and friends rave about this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Delicious! I got rave reviews for this. I followed some of the other reviewers and used sour cream instead of milk, and also tripled the lime zest. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristin
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Great cake. The only change I made was to drizzle it with coconut syrup after adding the lime glaze. The coconut syrup really brings it together. Baked in a tube pan, drizzled with the syrup, and garnished with lime it makes a beautiful and tasty cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Wonderful flavor. Baked at 325f. and the cake tested done in 1 hour and 15 minutes instead of the recommended 90 minutes. A bit n the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I have been using this recipe for years and it's really one of the best ever. I bake and decorate cakes and the basic recipe (without the lime juice or zest) is my standard vanilla cake. It's perfect for all types of pans, carves easily and stacks well. It's versatile and can be altered to all sorts of flavors. That said, there are a few key points that I'd like to make. One is that when you cream the shortening, butter and sugar together it takes at least 5 minutes. Light and fluffy doesn't happen quickly. The beating incorporates air into the mix and that's what gives you a moist and tender cake. Turn the mixer on medium (4 on a Kitchen Aid) and walk away, clean up, mix your dry ingredients, whatever. Two is mixing according to the recipe, dry ingredients and then liquid, beginning and ending with dry. Beat at medium-low speed (3 on a KA) for about 40 seconds in between, and be sure to scrape down the bowl at least once. Third, you don't have to stir the juices and zests in at the end, you can just mix them into your milk after you measure the milk. The juices added to the milk will make the milk curdle and get thick (like buttermilk) and this is fine. Lastly, bake your cake at 325F with the oven rack in the center position and 65 minutes is the maximum. If your cake isn't done then you need to get an oven thermometer and test your oven. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
It needs more key lime juice. Probably a 1/4 cup should do the trick and maybe using real rum as well or a rum extract and not "flavoring" should kick it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
cake was good. however it needs to be cooked for a little more than an hour and not 90 minutes. i liked the texture. but was looking for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States