Key Lime Cheesecakes with Raspberry Swirls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These are amazing! The yield was much higher than what the recipe had said, so I ended up having to bake the first batch of shortbread, allow them to cool briefly, and then do the other batch of crusts. Then I baked half the cheesecakes, waited about an hour before I removed them (carefully) from the pan, and then baked the other half. I didn't have a shot glass to push the shortbread crusts down, but the key limes I was using were just the right size, and they worked great. Also, a few hints about the raspberry: Mix the preserves before you start adding them to the cheesecake. They'll be much easier to work with. Also, the cheesecakes look better if you use less raspberry, rather than more. Just a small drop is enough to add color and the raspberry taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
We love these! Delicious, Fast and Easy. I thought I had shortbread cookies but didn't so I used Chocolate Wafers in place of them. The dark chocolate cookies taste great with the black raspberry preserves. The cheesecakes had been in the oven too long when I realized I had forgotten to swirl the preserves in. I just topped each one with a small spoonful and a fresh raspberry before serving. Delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I made these for a party at work. Everyone loved them. At least one person described them as "heaven on a plate." The raspberry compliments the key lime really well. I made these with regular limes (couldn't find any key limes) and baked them in regular sized muffin cups. I served them with a dollop of whipped cream, which both tasted good and hid any imperfections in the attractiveness of the raspberry swirl. I don't think you really need quite as much raspberry preserves as the recipe calls for, but other than that it is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I made the crust for this recipe according to the directions and divided it between 48 mini-muffin tins. The directions are just a little vague as it states it makes 24, but says to use 2 mini-muffin pans. My pans each hold 24. The filling seemed like way too much, so after looking at other mini cheesecake recipes and asking on the RE, I decided to make 2/3 of the filling recipe. That worked out just right. I had fresh raspberries on hand, so I cooked 6 oz with 3/4 cup sugar and 1 TBSP cornstarch. I used this in place of the preserves. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I enjoyed this recipe, but found it to be a little pricey to put together. Tip- Do not over cook! The tops will cave in if you cook these too long. I made these in regular sized muffin tins. I was really picky about my short bread, i only wanted "real" short bread (butter,flour,sugar) not Pecan Sandies with all the weird ingredients. This is what drove up the price of this recipe I think. Sandies would have been much cheaper. Anyways- took me 3 tries to get the cooking time on this one right. In regular muffin tins it took right about 18 Minutes. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
These were incredibly easy and turned out beautifully! The texture was wonderful and the cheesecakes were just rich enough to be deliciously decadent but you could eat more than 2 bites. Everyone who tried one LOVED them. I will be making these very often. Thank you SO much for sharing the recipe it is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I used this recipe for my baby shower and it was.... AMAZING!! i loved it and so did my guests. they completely demolished them. Instead of using shortbread cookies, i used cinnamon graham crackers which gave them a little kick and this recipe does not fit mini cupcakes, they fit 24 normal cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandyn-Ashley

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
You can buy key lime juice in a bottle at publix. The restaurant I work in uses the same juice for our Key Lime Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I scaled this recipe down for 6 servings and was able to produce eight cheesecakes from a standard muffin tin which was just what I needed for four people. Unfortunately, I was not able to find decent key limes, so had to substitute regular. I did not, however, increase the amount of juice called for to make up for that, only increasing the zest in both crust and cake by 1/4 tsp each. This resulted in a subtle but pleasing lime essence. It was just perfect. I would make these again, absolutely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I consider myself a good cook, but not a baker - so making desserts for me are not easy or enjoyable. This recipe was easy and they were delicious. As other reviewers noted, there was way too much "batter" leftover. I made 24 mini cheesecakes and 1 medium sized cheesecake. So if you just want the mini cheesecakes, definitely cut the recipe at least in 1/2. The cheesecakes will crack, but I think this is pretty typical for cheesecake. Also, I used a whole package of shortbread cookies and it was too much. Used raspberry preserves. Key limes are "key" to this recipe - they have great flavor - kind of a pain to zest and juice because they are so small, but its well worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: East Greenbush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States