Key Lime Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Yummy! Recipe is perfect just as written. Used fresh lime juice. Tart taste of lime balances sweetness and creaminess of sugar and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This is a great recipe, I prefer slightly less cream cheese and in the case of this recipe sour cream, it adds a nice tart note. I have used this as a "base" cheesecake recipe, and have substituted the lime for pureed strawberries, pureed mango, chocolate, or lemon. So from this one recipe i have been able to make a number of different flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I made these for a New Years Eve party and they came out great. I did add the extra egg that has been mentioned in the other reviews along with 3 full 8oz cream cheese packages and the zest of a lime in the batter. Because this party has so many people, I chose to make these in cupcake tins (paper lined) so that the cakes would be individual. If you also want to try that, cut the baking time down to 15 min @375 and then 32-40 minutes @250 depending on your oven. Batter makes approx 24 cakes. Chill overnight :). Loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Sorry ~ those who said to back off on the key lime juice (I used the bottled type Nellie and Joe's Famous Key Lime Juice), and I needed what the recipe called for and then some. I kept tasting and adding. I did increase the eggs and cream cheese though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Excellent recipe! The cheesecake came out creamy, firm, and delicious. It had a nice, tart, limey flavor that wasn't overpowering, and contrasted nicely with the cream cheese. If anything, it was a bit too tart...a bit more sugar might be a good addition. I didn't have key lime juice, so I used regular juice from fresh limes. To make them prettier, I added a couple drops of green food color. I also baked these in my mini cheesecake pan...one recipe made about 2 1/2 dozen. I baked these at 325 degrees for about 20 minutes, or until they weren't jiggly anymore. After chilling in the fridge overnight, I popped them out of the pan, piped on a rosette of whipped cream, and topped with a tiny lime wedge. They were very well received at the picnic I took them too...I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
SO GOOD! i love cheesecake and it was amazing. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I, also, made the changes mentioned previously--24oz cream cheese, 4 eggs, 1/3 cup of key lime juice. I also increased the sugar from 3/4 c to 1 cup. The cheesecake turned out very well and was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was an awesome cheesecake! Thanks to everyone who reviewed this before I baked it - I made the changes as suggested and it turned out great. I used 3 pkgs cream cheese, 1/2 cup of lime juice (Nellie & Joe's), 4 eggs, and a little more than the 1 tsp of vanilla. I also used 5 tbsp of butter for the crust as well. I also used the suggestion of baking the cheesecake with a shallow pan of water on the rack below it. This prevented my cheesecake from getting any cracks when baking and it looked great! I topped with whipped cream and decorated with sliced key limes. Would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This cheese cake is really great...the reason I gave it 2 stars is for extreme tartness. I used real Key Limes in 1 cake and added 1& 1/2 cups of sugar. The batter tasted OK.After baking...way too tart for company. I happen to love Tartness. I tried again with bottled Key Lime juice and added 2&1/4 cups of sugar...a little better, but not much.Could not serve company. Also the 10" spring form pan it WAY to big...8" is much better. Pan was so big it dried out the cake. Also 3/4 cup butter is better in the crust. And it is a MUST that a large pan of water be put under the cake as it bakes or cake will crack. Also you need to seal the bottom of the pan with tightly wrapped tinfoil or it will leak all over. You can also put the cake pan "in" the pan of water or "water bath" if you wish. I really don't think I will make this cake again. Like I said..I love tart but not very many other people do and it just is way to tart to serve to company to take to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States