Key Lime Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
As others have noted in their reviews, this is a strange consistency for a cake, almost pound-like, but crumbly. I took suggestions and added water to the mix, about 1/4 cup, but that didn't help much. The cake did rise a bit, but stuck to my 9" pan even with lots of Crisco. I like the tartness of it, but the cake is too heavy to be a summer treat. And the glaze never did thicken, even after 8 minutes of stirring over med. heat. Doubt I'll try this recipe again, as it is a lot of work for a so-so cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Myers Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Good cake... I made it a layer cake with lemon curd in between and 3 minute frosting... didn't have problems with the rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
My husband and I loved the taste! We wouldn't want it very thick, as it is a intense taste. Next time I make it I think I will fold the baking powder in at the same time as the egg whites, maybe it will make it a little lighter. We served warm with a ball of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I have not made this cake, but just wanted to say "hurray" for a proper recipe! Out of the three key lime cake recipes, this is the ONLY ONE that is actually a recipe. You can't use a prepared box-cake and pretend you made it, no matter how many sprinkles and doo-dads you add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sevenne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Disgusting!!! My mom swears this is the recipe she used to make my wedding cake. There's no way!!! Like the other posts have said, it didn't rise at all. I noticed right away the batter would be too thick. I tried adding water, but evidently that didn't make a difference. My cake turned out white. But my mom's cake was green. So I think she's made a mistake. Boy, I hope I find the real recipe. It was DELICIOUS!!! If I find it, I'll post it. But don't waste your time on this one...YUCK!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This is the worst cake I have ever made. It was dry, too tart, and did not rise. It was 2 inches high in my 10 inch bundt pan and developed a heavy crust even though I could it for a shorter time than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I didn't have any problem with the cake not rising, but I did use a 9" pan after reading the reviews. I think the trick is NOT peeking during the min. baking time. It was a light and deliciously tart cake. The glaze was transparent, so it didn't look glazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
Yuck! I followed the recipe exactly, but it was disgusting. It did not rise at all, I turned out a 1" high cake out of my bundt pan!!! Maybe it was my baking powder on that one, but still, the taste was not sweet enough, and it just did not taste good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I made the original cake and it only came out as a sorta ring so I doubled the recipe and it still didnt come out as big as a 10in bundt pan. In my opinion as a baker it was way to tart and no matter how long I baked it, it never would hold up, it always fell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
The flavor of the cake is wonderfully limey, however, the cake doesn't rise and the glaze was extremely sour. In addition, the crumbly texture is unpleasant after it cools and the cake begins to taste stale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States