Key Lime and Pretzel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
How can something this easy be THIS delicious!!! I loved the pretzel crust and can't believe what a difference it made in the flavor. :) I did run 1/4 cup short on the pretzel crumbs, so I made up for that with graham cracker crumbs...the salty pretzel flavor still came through beautifully. Another change I made was to add 4 oz. softened cream cheese, per the suggestion of other reviewers, and trust me, that made it so creamy! After tasting the lime mixture (before it set), I realized that I wanted more lime flavor, as it was a little light for me. I added probably another 1/4 lime juice as well as some fresh lime zest. I think that the next time I make this, I'll also add a tiny bit of green food coloring, but other than that will keep things the same as how I did them the first time. I loved this recipe and received a ton of compliments--thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Awesome...Crust is fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Incredibly easy, simple ingredients, and sooooo good! I got raves about the buttery pretzel crust. In key lime season you could use the real thing to freshen up the filling and garnish the top, but the rest of the year this scratches the key-lime pie itch without a lot of hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
My husband loves Key Lime Pie! I choose this recipe over all others because of the Pretzel Crust. I doubled the recipe, added 4oz of softened cream cheese (beaten in mixer 1st), added 1/2 cup more Key Lime juice. I used the beater with the mixer at high speed to whip all the ingredients. It set up very good overnight! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by designfly
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I love pretzels in sweet things and I thought this didn't come out well at all - waaay too salty. Maybe I used the wrong kind of pretzels?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
The pretzels are a great idea but have made it twice now and can't get the crust to stop falling apart even with extra butter. Any ideas would be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This is a great recipe! I had never had a pretzel crust until this. The salty / sweet / tangy / creamy effects all together are really good. I double the filling recipe and add in 8oz of cream cheese. So that everyone knows that it's a key lime pie, I also add in a couple drops of green food coloring. There is a little filling left over after I fill the crust but it's good because my family and I can't wait- so instead of getting into the pie, we dip pretzels into the leftover filling as a snack! It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
DH and I loved this pie! I agree with the other reviewers -- the smaller your pretzel crumb, the better. Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I used a different recipe for the filling because I wanted to bake it. However, the crust for this pie is just amazing. It makes the pie so much more interesting. I also used buttersnap pretzels which made it very tasty. I don't think I will ever make keylime pie with graham cracker crust again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Extremely simple and easy to make. I was totally impressed by the fact that just lime juice and condensed milk alone would thicken enough for a filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States