Kevin's Sea Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Amazing!!! This dish is amazing for all seafood lovers. I used 1 lb shrimp and 8oz small bay scallops. The scallops added a great seafood taste to the dish. I increased the sour cream and swiss cheese and stretched it by adding more shells. I also added two cloves of garlic diced to the sauce to kick it up a notch. Next time I will make sure to get garlic bread for a side! AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I couldn't find large shells so I used manicotti instead. I used milk instead of cream. This was fantastic. No leftovers and will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was really delicious. I followed it to the letter except I forgot to remove the shells with a slotted spoon and used a strainer so I had problems with broken shells, etc. That is on me. However, I got it together and it was delicious even if my presentation was not good (again my fault). Luckily it was just me. I reheated the left overs the next day and one thing that happened is some of the top shells got hard on the reheating. I'm a single guy so I'm still learning some of this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Was a hit! Easy to do with little mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Kevin....you scored with this one!!! My very picky husband said "please feel free to make this again"! I just made one change quite by accident, instead of picking up sour cream at the market, I grabbed french onion dip. I decided to use it anyways and it was great!!! Thanks for a great new dish for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Was a huge hit at my dinner party! I followed the recipe, using small pre-cooked frozen shrimp instead of fresh - they fit into the shells easier. I also doubled the recipe and made an alternate pan using leftover rotisserie chicken (& smoked gouda instead of swiss) for my non-shrimp liking friends. Both were gone in 10 minutes! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Absolutely delicious! My kids and husband loved this. My husband said it was his favorite thing I have ever made. For the filling I used shrimp and small bay scallops. I also used double the amount of mushrooms. I used whole milk instead of half and half and used light sour cream. Served with asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Awsome... This was the best meal I have ever eaten,and I have cooked and eaten alot. Everyone should try these, easy to make, and easy to make an impression with guest. Did not chang a thing. I served it with the white french loaf that blended perfectly with the sea shells. A nice white wine goes well with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Delicious! Followed the recipe, but used 1 lb. shrimp. It made 12, which was plenty for us. The sauce was great. I'm sure I'll be using it for other fish dishes. Thanks, Kevin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This is my favorite site because of all of the reviews and helpful suggestions. Some say you should only rate a recipe by following it to the letter. I disagree. I think any recipe can be rated on concept. I think that most people that love to cook look at all recipes in this light. " This sounds terrific. How can I modify it to my own family's preference?" Rated on concept, this recipe rates more than 5 stars. We used manicotta instead of shells for ease in stuffing pasta. Italian blend of shredded cheese instead of Swiss. Whole milk instead of cream. Sauteed the mushrooms with 2 tablespoons of finely minced garlic. Cut the shrimp in thirds. Seasoned them with Cajun seasoning and sauteed in a little butter for 2 minutes. Just enough to set the seasoning. Doubled the recipe with same amount of shrimp and used a like amount of imitation crab meat. (Wish we could have afforded the real thing. Maybe next time.) I think the leftovers reheated the next day may have been even better. Kevin, this was a fairly inexpensive meal fit for a king. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States