Kevin's Sea Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Kevin- THANK YOU!!! I have been looking for new things to try and just made these last night. The flavors were savory, worked well together, blended nicely but also stood out by themselves. I did not use the extra shell to cover them, instead stuffed those and made more. I also chopped up some fresh spinach, sprinkled it over the shells before adding the sauce and cheese. Great way to add a little color and sneak in a vegetable. Broccoli would also work. This tasted like something I would order in an expensive restaurant. Even my daughter who doesn't like shrimp- devoured her plate of them without asking what it was. I will definately be making these again! And again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This was fantastic! My husband loved this meal! I used a lot more wine than calle for and put half a chicken boullion cube to neutralize the flavor. More mushrooms because we loved mushrooms and sauteed spinach on the side. Thank you for this recipe. WIll def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was really good. My son has had the left overs for three meals straight. I buy the cut up shrimp pieces at the seafood market to save $. Stuff all the shells before you put the second one on to make sure you use up all the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was really good & I would have given 5 stars except for I did have to add a bit of spice, etc to help the white sauce. I used medium shrimp and cut them into thirds after cooking for barely 1 minute as I did not want to overcook them. Remember they are going to cook more in the oven Half seemed too big. I too only used a bottom shell. It seemed like too much pasta to put a top on it. I sealed the mixture in the shell by adding a bit of the shredded swiss to the top of the shell - YUM. I added in 4 chopped garlic cloves to the mushroom mixture. The only thing else different was in the sauce. It seemed bland so added some garlic pepper and about a tablespoon of dry sherry & a bit more wine to the sauce. Had a salad and garlic bread on side. It was very good and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Made this for my dinner party tonight, it was a big hit! I made with precooked shrimp and added 1lb of scallops to the shrimp mix. I also used manicotti instead of the shells, I could not find them in two stores. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Wow! Fabulous dish, was a hit at the party and everyone agreed this might be the best dish I have ever cooked. And I am an accomplished cook. I accidently sauteed the mushrooms longer, but it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fast Family Feasts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I liked this recipe very much. It was a little involved for a weeknight with the kids hanging on me, but if I had time I would definitely make it again. Good seafood comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Kevin! This is fantastic! I made half recipe and added diced red bell pepper, to use it up. This is happening again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rodiology

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Very good. I only had 1 lb. shrimp so I added about a cup of sauteed mushrooms to the filling. I also added garlic to the sauce. I didn't cover the filled shells with another shell (mostly because half of them broke while cooking!) But I think I'd do it that way again anyway. Be careful not to overcook the shrimp. Mine were a tad chewy but the taste was so good it didn't really matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
THE BEST I have found on this site!! It was a big hit. I made it with no changes....however, once I had to make it with Manicotti instead of shells (couldn't find any that day) and it was still wonderful! Thank you sooo much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvstyx
Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Prosper, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States