Kevin's Sea Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I would give this six stars if I could. Mind you, I did make some changes. My husband doesn't like shrimp so I used three cooked chicken breasts instead. I ground them into flaked chicken in the food processor then increased the sour cream to 1- 1 1/2 cups. The sauce was good, but if I ever want to cut down on time I think I might just use Classico Alfredo sauce and I think it could be delicious (I might also sautee some mushrooms, onions, and garlic to add to the sauce). I used chicken broth instead of the white whine and just used the swiss on top as well since I didn't want to buy two kinds of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This is my favorite site because of all of the reviews and helpful suggestions. Some say you should only rate a recipe by following it to the letter. I disagree. I think any recipe can be rated on concept. I think that most people that love to cook look at all recipes in this light. " This sounds terrific. How can I modify it to my own family's preference?" Rated on concept, this recipe rates more than 5 stars. We used manicotta instead of shells for ease in stuffing pasta. Italian blend of shredded cheese instead of Swiss. Whole milk instead of cream. Sauteed the mushrooms with 2 tablespoons of finely minced garlic. Cut the shrimp in thirds. Seasoned them with Cajun seasoning and sauteed in a little butter for 2 minutes. Just enough to set the seasoning. Doubled the recipe with same amount of shrimp and used a like amount of imitation crab meat. (Wish we could have afforded the real thing. Maybe next time.) I think the leftovers reheated the next day may have been even better. Kevin, this was a fairly inexpensive meal fit for a king. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
this was a family hit, every time we make this for our friends or family thay ask for the recipe every time.... i did add one extra thing that added so much more flavor we added crab, just add as little or as much as u would like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
was very good, but rich and heavy.. Needed more spice so added italian seasoning, garlic and some jarred pesto to the shrimp mixture. Ran out of mixture and didn't want to double fill the shells, so made the other 1/2 with garden veg cream cheese (all I had on hand) and italian cheeses.. The kids actually preferred the cream cheese filling over the shrimp. I enjoyed both and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This dish had great flavor even though I had a hard time getting the pasta to look picture perfect. Perhaps I over cooked the pasta a tad?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
made ahead, froze (and kept it frozen in the bottom of a good cooler) and then "baked" over a campfire. it was amazing. we ate like queens in the middle of nowhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Eggs
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Great recipe, the thing I did different was adding garlic powder and italian seasoning to the sauce, it gave it a more italian taste, I also sauteed the shrimp in blackened seasoning to give it a kick. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Awesome recipe! Didn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing, Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was absoulutely FABULOUS! The only thing I added was bread crumbs on top of the parmesean cheese. (I like a little crunch). It was a big hit, and very easy to make. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States