Kevin's Sea Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This is my favorite site because of all of the reviews and helpful suggestions. Some say you should only rate a recipe by following it to the letter. I disagree. I think any recipe can be rated on concept. I think that most people that love to cook look at all recipes in this light. " This sounds terrific. How can I modify it to my own family's preference?" Rated on concept, this recipe rates more than 5 stars. We used manicotta instead of shells for ease in stuffing pasta. Italian blend of shredded cheese instead of Swiss. Whole milk instead of cream. Sauteed the mushrooms with 2 tablespoons of finely minced garlic. Cut the shrimp in thirds. Seasoned them with Cajun seasoning and sauteed in a little butter for 2 minutes. Just enough to set the seasoning. Doubled the recipe with same amount of shrimp and used a like amount of imitation crab meat. (Wish we could have afforded the real thing. Maybe next time.) I think the leftovers reheated the next day may have been even better. Kevin, this was a fairly inexpensive meal fit for a king. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
this was a family hit, every time we make this for our friends or family thay ask for the recipe every time.... i did add one extra thing that added so much more flavor we added crab, just add as little or as much as u would like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
was very good, but rich and heavy.. Needed more spice so added italian seasoning, garlic and some jarred pesto to the shrimp mixture. Ran out of mixture and didn't want to double fill the shells, so made the other 1/2 with garden veg cream cheese (all I had on hand) and italian cheeses.. The kids actually preferred the cream cheese filling over the shrimp. I enjoyed both and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This dish had great flavor even though I had a hard time getting the pasta to look picture perfect. Perhaps I over cooked the pasta a tad?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
made ahead, froze (and kept it frozen in the bottom of a good cooler) and then "baked" over a campfire. it was amazing. we ate like queens in the middle of nowhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Eggs
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Great recipe, the thing I did different was adding garlic powder and italian seasoning to the sauce, it gave it a more italian taste, I also sauteed the shrimp in blackened seasoning to give it a kick. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Awesome recipe! Didn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing, Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was absoulutely FABULOUS! The only thing I added was bread crumbs on top of the parmesean cheese. (I like a little crunch). It was a big hit, and very easy to make. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was a delicious addition to my recipe collection. On the advice of one reviewer, I used sour cream-based onion dip instead of plain sour cream to add flavor. I don't think I would make it any other way because it came out so creamy and tasty. I doubled the mushrooms and added the green onions at the last minute to the sauce so they wouldn't lose their color, taste or texture. This was a dish that required some time to make, but it was well worth it. I know I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States