Kevin's Sea Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was SO GOOD! I forgot mushrooms at the grocery store so I used a couple tbsp's of cream of mushroom soup just to get the flavor. It was still amazing. My only complaint was that after baking in the oven, the sour cream inside the shells pretty much turned to liquid. I'm not sure what the solution would be to fix that (I used regular Sour Cream, no light or fat free), but I would have prefered that a little creamier. Still, it did not ruin the flavor of this delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This recipe was a big hit at my ladies club group. Everyone wanted the recipe. Just delicious.. Chris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I made this for Valentine's dinner. I get bored of the same old dinners and this recipe was very inventive!! It is a little spendy so definitely for a special occasion or for the wealthy! =) I was hesitant to use sour cream because I am not a huge sour cream fan and thought that it would be weird with seafood, but surprisingly the swiss cheese mixed with it really compliments the dish very well!! For the sauce that you cook and spread on top, I would use a little less flour, and a little more butter and white wine and add a few garlic cloves to the mushrooms.. The amount of flour called for makes the sauce cakey and has a weird flavor in my opinion. Over-all a fantastic idea and who doesn't love shrimp!!! Yum! I served this with sourdough artisan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperVern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I made quite a few changes, but we loved them! Cut recipe in half for 2 of us and did not wrap each shell with another to enclose. Used 8oz shrimp & 4oz lump crabmeat. I added a jar of pimentos & about 4oz chopped mushrooms to the shrimp stuffing. I omitted onions based on preference & used skim milk instead of half & half. Also used shredded asiago instead of parmesan. Filled about 15 shells and plan on making again! Only thing I will try is a bit more white wine in the sauce. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Great Idea! I changed a few things to my familys personal taste, but this is a great recipe! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Made these tonight, my husband really liked them, for me I would of liked more sauce. But they were really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
My boyfriend loved this! I used fat free half and half and light sour cream, I don't think it you could tell. This is a recipe I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
So Yummy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
this was delicious but I did change the recipe up a lot. I seasoned the shrimp with salt,pepper,garlic salt, red pepper flakes, and tonys. Then added crab boil to the water for the shrimp. I took the shrimp out and put them in the freezer so they wouldn't cook any more while in the bowl. I also sautéed the green onions mushrooms and garlic together while seasoning them with worcestershire sauce, salt, pepper, cayenne, garlic salt, cayenne and cooked them down until my mushrooms were really soft then added the wine and half n half .... while heating that up i slowly stirred in flour and grated parmesan until it was thick. i also had to use manicotti noodles, also wit the stuffing i used GOUDA not swiss. My boyfriend and I loved this sooooo much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Perfect for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States