Kettle Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
So delicious! You don't need to have many ingredients to make this so it's a great last minute treat. I halved the recipe, no problem. But when I was shaking- dropped the pot and lost another half of the popcorn... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
So easy and good! Tried brown sugar too. My husband liked it the best, but I like the white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
My family is addicted to this! We use our crank style stovetop popper, and it works amazing! Just as good or better than you can get at carnivals and street fairs, and it's CHEAP! Only thing we changed was sprinkling and tossing with a little salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Harvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Very good! And easy. I burnt my first batch, but didn't give up. I use my large all-clad pot on my large burner set at 6/10. I dump the kernels and sugar (with a touch of kosher salt) all at once, throw the lid on, grab both handles with two ends of a kitchen towel (so the lid doesn't clang around and so I don't burn myself) and shake, shake, shake! I don't lift the pot or pause, but I do shut off the burner when I hear the explosion of popping and finish off with the residual heat. Then immediately pour the popcorn into a large bowl or cake pan. If you burn the first time- don't give up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Thank you for the great recipe. Keep it up, great job!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I did the 3 kernel test first as the oil was heating and I also mixed my brown and white sugar together before I poured it over the kernels delicious. Also instead of vegetable oil I used sesame oil..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Originally from the Dutch Amish are of Pennsylvania, this isn't quite as good as what I've bought from the fair...with that being said...this is an awesome recipe!! I've made this several times and have NEVER had it fail. I use Orville Reddenbacher, canola oil and a Whirly Pop popcorn maker on just a tick below medium heat on an electric flat-top stove. I use the 3 kernal test, add the rest of the corn, turn handle to coat the kernals, and then add the sugar. Might add a bit of salt next time and see what that does. All in all....huge success with everyone I serve it to. Thanks Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiAnneEvans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Middlesex, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stella, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This popcorn is so good it's the only kind we make now. Thanks for the recipe. It's so easy my 8 year old likes to help make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica08

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This was terrific. I would suggest listening to everyone's suggestion about using three kernels and waiting for them to pop in the oil to know that you have reached optimal cooking temperature. As is, the recipe is terrific--though I added a bit of salt. Out of eight times, I only successfully made the popcorn twice. I only use a standard cooking pot. Each time the popcorn failed, a big mess was made with smoke everywhere and sticky, black, and rank popcorn. However, my suggestion is to use a wooden spoon directly after emptying the popcorn and sugar into the pot and keep stirring until it starts to pop. After that, shake the pot and hold the lid up a bit so that the air can enter. Popcorn won't pop without air due to the pressure within. But, with all the effort, it's very much worth it; it is absolutely delicious. I much prefer kettle corn to butter popcorn; it's just so nostalgic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bradenkeiser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montpelier, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I have not purchased store-bought kettle corn since trying this recipe. Turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 991) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States