Kettle Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Cheap, quick, and easy! I put oil and three kernels in the pot, when all three kernels pop I add the sugar and stir it around well, then I add the rest of the popcorn kernels and put the lid on. Then I alternate shaking the pot for three seconds with letting it sit on the burner for three seconds until I hear the popping begin to slow down, then I take off the lid and sprinkle some salt in, replace the lid, give it another shake and pour it out into a bowl. Haven't had a batch burn yet with the "3-second shake and sit" technique. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1776 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
SUCCESS!!! The other reviewers aren't kidding, this kettle corn tastes just like the stuff at the fair. Here are some tips... I used a wide and heavy bottom stainless steel pan with high sides. Be sure to use the 3 kernel test (Preheat your pan with medium-high heat, add all of the oil along with 3 kernels of popcorn. When the 3 kernels pop, the oil is ready!). Once the oil is ready, add the rest of the popcorn and quickly sprinkle the sugar on top. Place a lid on the pan. Alternate, in three second intervals, between leaving the pan on the stove top and lifting and shaking the pot. Once the popping has slowed, remove from the stove top and immediately sprinkle with salt. Let it cool a little and try not to eat the whole batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
845 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I am the "sue" who submitted this recipe and I am so glad & thankful for the great reviews! I had the 3 kernal test (I always use Orville Redenbachers's corn too as the better corn really makes a difference) in the directions and was a little disapointed to see when the recipe appeared online - had been left out. I always use a stir crazy popcorn machine as this is always a multiple batch making recipe @ my house - left over corn is not as good but still always eaten!! I heat the oil, put in 3 kernals and when they pop - add the sugar. When it melts (happens quickly) add the rest of corn. As soon as the popping stops, dump it into a waiting bowl and sprinkle with salt. Dive in and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
761 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Great snack, Sue. I added 1/4t salt to the sugar and oil. This way the salt and sugar form a crispy coating around the kernel. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
435 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I don't have one of those neat hand-crank popcorn-making-thingys. I have absolutely zero experience making popcorn on the stove. What I do have is a pot that I normally use for chili and pasta, a fondness for kettle corn, and a heck of a of a nerve on me. Here's what I did, mistakes and all: I did the 3-kernel test, and then added the sugar and the popcorn at the same time. (I'm not going to call that a mistake, but I think next time I'll add the sugar, let it melt, and then add the popcorn - the way I did it this afternoon, the popcorn started to pop before the sugar was melted.) I used canola oil and thought it was fine. I added 1 tsp of salt plus a pinch or two to the sugar; next time I might stick to just 1 tsp, as I found some pieces to be a little salty. I did the three-seconds-on-the-heat/three-seconds-off-the-heat thing, shaking the entire time, and I probably pulled it a little early because I'd rather have a few unpopped kernels than burned sugar and popcorn. The end result was very, very tasty. Some of the pieces carmelized quite a bit, others didn't; I preferred the ones that didn't, but that didn't stop me from eating the entire batch by myself. Cleanup was no problem; the cooled sugar melted right off again with hot water. Thanks for the great recipe! Edit: Later, I tried letting the sugar melt before adding the popcorn. I thought the sugar carmelized too much - it tasted burned instead of sweet. I'll add them at the same time from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
338 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Wow! This became a really fast hit in my family. After making it a few times, though, I do have some suggestions. The last time I made it was the best. Instead of using oil, I melted about 1/4 cup of butter flavored shortening. It made the kernels pop much faster lighter, and had a hint of a buttery taste. Very nice. I also, added a few drops of decorator's icing coloring to the melted shortening and sugar mixture. When the popcorn pops, it explodes into a really beautiful color. You can even mix two colors together[only two batches of popcorn is needed for that;)]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
318 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This was really good. It did take me a couple of tries to perfect the technique though. The first few times I made it, I had a big gooey mess in the bottom of the pot. Make sure you start shaking as soon as the corn starts to pop and don't stop until it is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This is the best popcorn I've ever had. I first added three kernals until they popped, then added the sugar to the oil and stirred it a bit so most of the sugar dissolves in the oil. Then I added the rest of the kernels. This is really easy to make and it absolutely taste great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
This is a great recipe! I used half oil and half butter and added just two popcorn kernals. Once they popped I poured in the popcorn, sugar and a little salt. Just keep shaking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
I've made this one many times & I absolutly love it! Beware it's easy to burn! I had a girls night out movie night at my house and all my girlfriends raved about it, it's addicting. I haven't tried it with brown sugar yet. I think that I also added 1/4 tsp salt with the sugar. DON'T DO THIS AT HOME: DON'T TRY TO DO THE SAME THING WITH POWDERED CHEESE :)I did and it burnt like nothing else! I figured if I added the powdered cheese in place of the sugar it would coat the popcorn like the sugar does, well it doen't! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 981) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States