Kettle Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Yummy! I burned the first batch due to eating only microwave popcorn for so long and forgetting how fast this pops. I followed the recipe exactly and loved it. There was some splattering but I used a stockpot so it was o.k. I think a skillet will be easier to manage next time. My kid loves it! I like the review that suggested adding some salt along with the sugar and will try that next time. Thanks for the recipe! I did not know kettle corn was just white sugar, figured you need corn syrup or something. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Ok, So I feared making this as I was afraid I would have a sticky mess to clean up afterwards.... ok who are we kidding... I was afraid to make it because I was afraid I'd get yelled at by my wife for the hot sticky mess I'd have left for her to clean. But, I made it anyways... I followed the suggestion of leaving 3 kernels in so you know when it's ready then add the sugar and popcorn and doing the whole, "sit for 3 seconds then shake for 3 seconds" method. The popcorn came out great and was a huge success. It was nicely coated on the outside but still crunchy and fluffy inside. I made this for a laidback movie night at our home and now it has become a requirement for EVERY movie night! It made the perfect amount for us and is a great recipe. We will try a mix of brown and white sugar to see if we like the caramel flavor the brown sugar brings. We would recommend this to anyone who loves popcorn but is feeling a little more adventurous than the same ol' salt and butter routine. Oh... and clean up for me (wife won the coin toss) was a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Also works in the microwave! Tried it with reduced ingredient ratios and it worked great in our Presto Power Pop microwave cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I just added a little bit more popcorn kernals, maybe 1 TBSP because I tend to like just a little less sweetness. I also used coconut oil and it and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Delicious! Fast and easy! I forgot to add salt until it cooled a little but it is still great! Next time I will remember to add it with sugar as I saw someone suggest. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Add just a touch of salt, maybe a 1/4 t along with the sugar. Perfection! I also followed the tip about using the 3 kernals pop and stiring the sugar and corn mixture for a few second before putting the lid on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
MMMMMMMM! Love this. very easy. takes way less then 20 minutes. thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Easy and super fancy pants. I make little paper cones and served these at a catering gig. Got a pimptastic tip. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Came on allrecipes' website to find a recipe for caramel corn and came across this recipe. Made this twice. Easy and tasty. The first time, it was good but the second time I tried the method of putting the sugar in the oil before putting in the popcorn, it turned out that the sugar did not dissolve and sugar turned into rock-hard clumps. Had to restart, but it was good and am making it again! For me, the best way to start is to heat the oil, like the recipe stated, and the add the popcorn once the oil was hot, then right after adding the popcorn add the sugar. Also added in a 1/4 teaspoon of salt to the sugar. It does seem to want to stick, when you're moving the pot for a while, but, I would lift the lid just enough to get a spoon in there to stir it around so the sugar wouldn't burn. If it seems like the popcorn is popping pretty fast, you could even lower the heat somewhat so the sugar doesn't start to burn. I've seen where other reviewers said that they use a non-stick stock pot, but we don't have one of those. We use our stainless steel stock pot, and if you turn down the heat once it starts really popping, that helps it not to burn. That's what I did the second time and we didn't have any burnt pieces. What we did was to stir the popcorn once most of it was popped, while it was still in the pot, to help coat the pieces with the mixture. We will definitely keep this recipe! Thanks for posting, Sue202.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Excellent! We used unrefined coconut oil and it made a sweet, coconut and caramel flavored glaze. A pinch of salt made this popcorn so extraordinary my girlfriend blurted out between bites: "This is the best thing I have ever eaten! Period."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 981) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States