Kettle Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I have to say when I saw this recipe I was pretty excited about using it. BOY! was I wrong. I followed the directions to the letter. LOL! adding the ingredients all at once actually cools to pan down a little to where sugar burns even when you stir it constantly. Also adding sugar to the pan with the popcorn slows the popping process. Read most of the reviews, I'm glad for those people who had success with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bfogler

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
All the bad reviews here are from those who did not do it right. You must be fast, you must keep it shaking!!!!Dont't let the sugar burn!!! It turns brown and gooey and gross if your method is not just right. My husband is awesome at it. He gets it right every time. I have, on the other hand, messed it up because of my technique. Same recipe,but when I am not fast enough it won't work!! When you do it right it is an amazing yummy treat. Each kernel is coated with clear, shiny sugar. Add a little salt and you are in heaven!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Rave reviews here and although I had a few caramelized kernels. I realized it was due to my using too high a heat. I, too, added salt and it was absolutely DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sundy Fitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Yummy! I burned the first batch due to eating only microwave popcorn for so long and forgetting how fast this pops. I followed the recipe exactly and loved it. There was some splattering but I used a stockpot so it was o.k. I think a skillet will be easier to manage next time. My kid loves it! I like the review that suggested adding some salt along with the sugar and will try that next time. Thanks for the recipe! I did not know kettle corn was just white sugar, figured you need corn syrup or something. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Ok, So I feared making this as I was afraid I would have a sticky mess to clean up afterwards.... ok who are we kidding... I was afraid to make it because I was afraid I'd get yelled at by my wife for the hot sticky mess I'd have left for her to clean. But, I made it anyways... I followed the suggestion of leaving 3 kernels in so you know when it's ready then add the sugar and popcorn and doing the whole, "sit for 3 seconds then shake for 3 seconds" method. The popcorn came out great and was a huge success. It was nicely coated on the outside but still crunchy and fluffy inside. I made this for a laidback movie night at our home and now it has become a requirement for EVERY movie night! It made the perfect amount for us and is a great recipe. We will try a mix of brown and white sugar to see if we like the caramel flavor the brown sugar brings. We would recommend this to anyone who loves popcorn but is feeling a little more adventurous than the same ol' salt and butter routine. Oh... and clean up for me (wife won the coin toss) was a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Also works in the microwave! Tried it with reduced ingredient ratios and it worked great in our Presto Power Pop microwave cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I just added a little bit more popcorn kernals, maybe 1 TBSP because I tend to like just a little less sweetness. I also used coconut oil and it and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Delicious! Fast and easy! I forgot to add salt until it cooled a little but it is still great! Next time I will remember to add it with sugar as I saw someone suggest. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Add just a touch of salt, maybe a 1/4 t along with the sugar. Perfection! I also followed the tip about using the 3 kernals pop and stiring the sugar and corn mixture for a few second before putting the lid on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
MMMMMMMM! Love this. very easy. takes way less then 20 minutes. thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,004) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States