Kerry's Beany Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
This was a good salad. I think it would have been just fine as originally posted, but I did get a little carried away with tinkering. I cooked my own beans (I think they are better than canned -less mushy) I toasted my barley first in a dry skillet and used low sodium chicken broth instead of water to cook it in. I also seasoned the broth with salt, pepper, fennel, and coriander. For my rice I also used half chicken broth to cook it in and also seasoned with the same seasonings as the barley. I addes celery, used fresh corn cut off the cobb and for the red pepper, I made red pepper relish (which you can also buy in a jar). I added crushed fennel seeds and coriander to the salad as a whole and added two tablespoons of lemon juice. I refrigerated over night, let it sit out an hour before serving and then punched the flavor back up at the last minute by adding another two tablespoons of redwine vinegar and salt. I think that next time I would added even more fennel seed, maybe even some chopped fennel aslong with the celery. It did make alot and if you were really only serving 6 people, you could easily cut back by a quarter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
Awesome! I guess I could cut the oil, but I prepare it as it's written, and I love it! A big hit with friends and family at bbq get-togethers,and it's a nice change from the old fashioned three bean salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Excellent flavor! Maybe also add a little celery for crunch and I think I could get away with a little less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
I love this recipe - I've made it several times. I add more rice (3/4 cup cooked in 2 1/4 cup water) and have some green Tabasco sauce on the table. Everyone always raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
I enjoyed this salad; my husband thought it was ok. I thought it was better the next day, after it had plenty of time to chill in the fridge. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
This is the best salad ever. I thought it had plenty of pazazz & I even used cayenne instead of crushing the red pepper flakes and parsley instead of cilantro. Healthy and deeeeee-lish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
I have made this several times and enjoy it every time. I have also made it for gatherings and have had recipe requests each time. I read the previous reviews before preparing it the first time and so made some modifications - double the vinegar, garlic and pepper flakes and cut the oil in half. I use brown rice or white/brown rice mixed. I cook the grains together and add some boullion to the water. And I use italian parsley instead of cilantro (not a fan of cilantro). Thanks for submitting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
I cut the oil in half and recipe still was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
This recipe is great!! It is my new summer favorite. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDASILVA11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
It is good, but lacks something in the dressing....needs a bit more kick or flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States