Kerry's Beany Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This was fairly good. Folks seemed to like it, though personally I was surprised that it didn't have more flavor despite the array of spices in the dressing. I did, however, enjoy it just the same. I used hulled barley instead of pearl barley since it's what the local co-op had. (It's more nutritious too!) They were also out of green onions so I used red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This is an awesome recipe! Beautiful and tastes superb. I have made 2x now over the holiday weekend for different parties. I altered some based upon everyone's feedback...cut oil in half, double vinegar, red pepper flakes and garlic, and add some celery for crunch. This is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
This is fantastic. I served it as a side dish today, but I think it is hearty enough to be a main course for a light summer meal! The flavors all work very well together and it is hard to believe all of the nutrition it packs! This will become a staple in our house for certain. I followed the recipe as is with the only alteration being the amount of water I cooked the barley in. The package on my barley indicated a different grain/water ratio to cook so I used those directions to be sure I didn't end up with barley that was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
What a great combination. I use garbonzo beans instead of barley and left out the kidney beans, b/c I didn't have any. I followed others and 1/2c red wine vinegar and 1/4c olive oil. What a wonderful change from the typical summer potato and macaroni salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
I used half the olive oil, double the garlic and vinegar (next time, would do a little less vinegar). Also used a scant 1/4 teaspoon cayenne instead of the crushed red pepper. This had excellent flavor and a nice combination of textures. Very healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
Very interesting. I will make more dressing next time, the beans seem to soak a lot of it up. F.Y.I - I followed the directions in the All Recipe's Cookbook I and noticed that the directions are a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
Wow, what a great combination of flavors. I thought that the red wine vinegar really gave this a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
This is the best! I didn't have any red kidney beans so I used white kidney's instead. Next time I am going to add navy's and chickpeas. Even my 6 year old twins and 3 year old daughter ate it...amazing! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
Love the flavor. To cut down cost I used dried soup beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tax pro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summit, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Central City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
I've been asked to make this so many times that I'm almost getting sick of it. almost. This definitely makes my list of top favorite recipes for its taste, simplicity, and health value. Like others suggested, I, too, doubled the vinegar and halved the oil. Tastes great. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States