Kerry's Beany Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Did the recipe exactly as indicated and it was loved by all. Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkane47

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I've been making this for years. Great at potlucks (on 'international' day for themed parties). This is fantastic with quesadillas. I like a little extra cilantro. Have also made with wild rice (for extra nutty flavor and more color). Whip salad in 'bullet' or processor for a thicker dressing if you want it to stick a little more to the grains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEEJA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I wasn't crazy about this until I served it on a bed of lettuce to make it a meal. then it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I have made this dish for a Church picnic and for a neighborhood party and it is always the first to be eaten. I added cumin instead of chili powder and used ground ancho and chipolte chile pepper in place of the red pepper flakes. I also made the dressing the night before and didn't add it until about an hour before serving. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ijamsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Used about 1/3 the amount of olive oil that is called for. Turned out great! Made this for a pot luck at work. Got lots of compliments and none left over. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This is a colorful and delicious salad. I was looking for ways to increase whole grains in my diet and I found a winner right off the bat. It is better the next day. I did decrease the oil to 1/4 c. I am going to experiment with other beans, spices and vinegars in the future just to see how they would taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
My family really enjoyed this healthy recipe. The only item I didn't have was the fresh cilantro, and used a tsp. or so of dried instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Delicious. This was a big hit at the father's day barbeque. I used 1 cup of rice as I didn't have the other grain and half the chili powder as my mother hates spices. When I make it at home I'll use all the chili. Very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I made this recipe as given and it turned out wonderful. Was a huge hit at my Memorial Day BBQ. I will say that it was better the second day after overnight refrigeration. I would suggest making it a day ahead so the flavors have a lot of time to blend really well. Will definitely be making this one again. Also a note, I served this cold salad along with some fresh fruit. It went exceptionally well with the fresh mango. Will probably dice some up to put directly in the salad next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This salad was absolutely fantastic! We had our 2 boys birthdays combined over the weekend, did a buffet style dinner with 14 adults and 7 kids...almost the entire salad disappeared (to my dismay, I was looking forward to leftovers!). My only changes: used italian parsley instead of cilantro, doubled the vinegar as suggested and cut down the oil, it was great! I also didn't use the lettuce leaves. I think next time I will try a wild rice blend instead of long grain white. Great dish, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States