Keon's Slow Cooker Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe, but my grocer did not sell Cayenne Pepper, so I had to omit it. But the recipe was great! I had never made Curry Chicken before, I am relatively a new cook. I gave it four stars because I am not one for spicy dishes, not even mildly spicy. This one had a bit of a kick! But overall, my finicky daughter and I loved it, and that was good enough for me! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
this is a tasty Thai style curry. If you want a thick Indian curry look elsewhere. Best served on a bowl of rice. I modified the theme with these variations: no salt; 1 packet of dry onion soup mix, 1/2 teas ground pepper; 8 tbsps curry; 2 teas cayenne, 8 breasts, 2 tbps butter, 2 onions, 2 cream mushroom, 2 cream chicken, 2 coconut milk, 1 pk frozen peas, 1 pk frozen spinach, 1 red bell pepper, 1 yellow bell pepper. I cooked in slow cooker 1 hr on high until sides bubbled, then 3+ hours on low. Others noted good ideas to add potatoes or rice, and I'll probably do that when warming the curry up tomorrow or the next day. This should freeze pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I thought the sauce would be way too watery and too much of it if I used whole cans of each cream soup, so I decided to use only one half can of each. I decreased the amount of cayenne to 1 tsp. and added 1/4 tsp. of my homemade garam masala spice blend. This was very tasty and had just the right amount of heat for us. Thanks for a very easy curry recipe. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I have made this recipe several times because my husband and I LOVE it! I have found that this recipes works well on the stove top instead of the slow cooker when you are short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was a hit with our family, and it is certainly easy to make. I did make a few changes, mainly because not all of us like mushrooms. I changed the can of cream of mushroom soup to a second can of cream of chicken soup and left out the fresh mushrooms altogether. And, at the recommendation of others, I left out the extra salt, otherwise I kept the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Very good but could have used a larger variety of ingredients. Next time I will use more peas, carrots, onion, potatoes, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I loved this easy prep slow cooker meal! Comes together in about 15 minutes. I skipped the onion saute, and just added to the crock sliced raw. I added diced sweet potato and shredded carrot to the mix, and used low sodium soups and low fat coconut milk. For the curry powders I used two tablespoons sweet curry, and one tablespoon hot. I skipped the cayene. Just let it go on low for about 8 hours. This was delicious served over basil spiked jasmine rice. A definite keeper and do-over for sure. Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
It was awesome! Now that I am pregnant I keep dreaming about this curry. However, I think that it taste so much better with more vegetables. I added potatoes, carrots, and celery. The potatoes were the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This is an awesome curry because it uses such common ingredients that you most likely already have in your pantry. I did make changes however and I am sure glad that I did beacuse I think it would have been waaaay too spicey otherwise. I used 2 TBSP curry powder (instead of the 3) and 1 tsp Cayanne pepper (this was the perfect spicy for my family, 2 would have been way too hot for us. Soooo yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was good; however need some changes to the recipe. Like the other reviewers, I decreased the cayenne pepper to 1/2 tsp. Fine for my partner and I; however my 5 year old struggled a bit with the heat and she does eat some spicy cuisine already. We actually love Thai food and associate curry with sweet and salty. Some reviewers said to not add more salt. I would say that you should. I would also add some sugar, approximately 2 TBSP. With these changes, I would increase the rating to 4 to 5 stars. We ate with jasmine rice-- as must have for the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States