Keon's Slow Cooker Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
less cayenne pepper; more chicken breasts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Yes I made this about a week ago and it was fantistic. Highly recommended and very easy to do. Robin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I made this recipe last night and it came out unbelievable. My husband said over and over how much he loved this dish. However, I did tweek a few things. I didn't add additional salt as recipe called for, I did however add a pinch of salt to onions while browning. Also, I cut the cayenne pepper in half and it was plenty hot. I added 1tsp of garam masala to give it more flavor. Cooked it for 7 hours on low. I will definitely be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Good stuff, Keon! I reduced the cayenne to 1/2 tsp after reading other reviews, and it was terrific. I used boneless chicken thighs instead of breasts because I love their flavour. No other changes except for the reduced-sodium versions of the canned soup. I also thought the sauce might be a tad thin, but it mixed nicely with rice, plus it made a really good thick soup for my lunch the next day, with a nice piece of crusty bread. It was super easy and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I couldn't find my cayenne pepper, so I substituted chili powder and it wasn't hot at all. It was, however, really tasty! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Delicious!!! I made the following changes, some on purpose and some by accident: I bought as many low sodium soups that I could find and omitted the salt; I used 6-8 chicken breasts, added 1 bag of raw zipper bag shrimp (during the last hour), I substituted the cream of chicken soup for cream of potatoe (this thickened up the sauce), 5 tbsp curry, 2 tsp garam masala, 3/4 tsp black pepper, 1/2 tsp cayenne. These are the only changes I made, I didn't double up the soups because several people said there was a tonne of sauce. These quantities were absolutely perfect! We loved it. It had just enough kick! I also discovered this recipe at 1:30 in the afternoon and I really wanted to make it. So I cooked the chicken breasts from frozen on high for 2 hours I then took them out cut them up, which was a breeze and then put them back in with the shrimp and conitnued on high for abother 1 1/2 hours. Thank you Keon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Do NOT add cubed potatoes & sweet potatoes as some reviewers have suggested. While it sounded like a good idea, these did not cook in the allotted time and were raw & crunchy. Had to fish them out of the sauce before serving! If you wish to add these, pre-boil them and then add at the end. I reduced the cayenne to 1/2 tsp. per previous comments and it was still quite spicy! Next time I'll reduce to perhaps 1/3 tsp. This makes a lot of sauce, so double the peas, which adds some more color to this colorless dish! Also added 1 Tb. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is my new favorite!! Had to tweak it but only because I didn't have the exact ingredient list but I think it came out divine. No fresh mushroom so I used two cans of organic mushrooms.....HATE peas so I substituted green pepper....sauteed all this in the butter with the onions. Didn't have cream of chicken so I used two cream of mushroom.....and I rarely buy dry onion soup mix so I added beef bouillon granules, California garlic powder and some dried onions. I rarely eat rice and have found with spicy dishes like this, smashed red potatoes is just perfect (must be the Irish in me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
it certainly has potential. Since I am an avid cook of and lover of Indian food (hubby is Indian) then it may be unfair for me to pass judgment here. However, if you want quick and easy, I say do this recipe. My guess is everyone should continue their attempts until tweaked to their own perfection/taste. I served with (what else) Basmai rice. Thanks Keon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnaff9093

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bassett, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Ok, I gave this 5 stars because it was not only I that like it, but everyone in my office!! I even got a hive five for it! LOL! Anyway used everything it called for, although I did add a little more pepper and used portobello mushrooms. I'm not a big fan of curry however this is one that I loved, and will def make again for sure. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrJemJr

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brunswick, Georgia, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States