Keon's Slow Cooker Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Delicious!!! I made the following changes, some on purpose and some by accident: I bought as many low sodium soups that I could find and omitted the salt; I used 6-8 chicken breasts, added 1 bag of raw zipper bag shrimp (during the last hour), I substituted the cream of chicken soup for cream of potatoe (this thickened up the sauce), 5 tbsp curry, 2 tsp garam masala, 3/4 tsp black pepper, 1/2 tsp cayenne. These are the only changes I made, I didn't double up the soups because several people said there was a tonne of sauce. These quantities were absolutely perfect! We loved it. It had just enough kick! I also discovered this recipe at 1:30 in the afternoon and I really wanted to make it. So I cooked the chicken breasts from frozen on high for 2 hours I then took them out cut them up, which was a breeze and then put them back in with the shrimp and conitnued on high for abother 1 1/2 hours. Thank you Keon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Do NOT add cubed potatoes & sweet potatoes as some reviewers have suggested. While it sounded like a good idea, these did not cook in the allotted time and were raw & crunchy. Had to fish them out of the sauce before serving! If you wish to add these, pre-boil them and then add at the end. I reduced the cayenne to 1/2 tsp. per previous comments and it was still quite spicy! Next time I'll reduce to perhaps 1/3 tsp. This makes a lot of sauce, so double the peas, which adds some more color to this colorless dish! Also added 1 Tb. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is my new favorite!! Had to tweak it but only because I didn't have the exact ingredient list but I think it came out divine. No fresh mushroom so I used two cans of organic mushrooms.....HATE peas so I substituted green pepper....sauteed all this in the butter with the onions. Didn't have cream of chicken so I used two cream of mushroom.....and I rarely buy dry onion soup mix so I added beef bouillon granules, California garlic powder and some dried onions. I rarely eat rice and have found with spicy dishes like this, smashed red potatoes is just perfect (must be the Irish in me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
it certainly has potential. Since I am an avid cook of and lover of Indian food (hubby is Indian) then it may be unfair for me to pass judgment here. However, if you want quick and easy, I say do this recipe. My guess is everyone should continue their attempts until tweaked to their own perfection/taste. I served with (what else) Basmai rice. Thanks Keon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnaff9093

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bassett, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Ok, I gave this 5 stars because it was not only I that like it, but everyone in my office!! I even got a hive five for it! LOL! Anyway used everything it called for, although I did add a little more pepper and used portobello mushrooms. I'm not a big fan of curry however this is one that I loved, and will def make again for sure. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrJemJr

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brunswick, Georgia, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Excellent dish - perfect for slow cooker because it allows the curry and spices to cook thru the sauce and chicken. I added one additional ingredient - 3/4 cup of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I too was skeptical after looking at the ingredients, but decided to give it a try. I thought it was pretty good the first time I did it though I thought the flavor or the dried onion soup mix was overwhelming. I didn't include it the second time I made it and was really happy with the result. I also included a habanero pepper to give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe, but my grocer did not sell Cayenne Pepper, so I had to omit it. But the recipe was great! I had never made Curry Chicken before, I am relatively a new cook. I gave it four stars because I am not one for spicy dishes, not even mildly spicy. This one had a bit of a kick! But overall, my finicky daughter and I loved it, and that was good enough for me! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
this is a tasty Thai style curry. If you want a thick Indian curry look elsewhere. Best served on a bowl of rice. I modified the theme with these variations: no salt; 1 packet of dry onion soup mix, 1/2 teas ground pepper; 8 tbsps curry; 2 teas cayenne, 8 breasts, 2 tbps butter, 2 onions, 2 cream mushroom, 2 cream chicken, 2 coconut milk, 1 pk frozen peas, 1 pk frozen spinach, 1 red bell pepper, 1 yellow bell pepper. I cooked in slow cooker 1 hr on high until sides bubbled, then 3+ hours on low. Others noted good ideas to add potatoes or rice, and I'll probably do that when warming the curry up tomorrow or the next day. This should freeze pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I thought the sauce would be way too watery and too much of it if I used whole cans of each cream soup, so I decided to use only one half can of each. I decreased the amount of cayenne to 1 tsp. and added 1/4 tsp. of my homemade garam masala spice blend. This was very tasty and had just the right amount of heat for us. Thanks for a very easy curry recipe. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States