Keon's Slow Cooker Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I have to admit, when I mixed the sauce for this dish together, I was pretty skeptical. Two cans of condensed soup and a packet of onion soup mix is a lot of processed food, and mixing it with coconut milk just seemed . . . odd. Odd and a little wrong. But I'm always on the lookout for interesting slow-cooker meals, so I gave it a shot. Really, it's not half bad. Completely unlike any curry I've ever had, except for the curry powder, but not half bad. Taste-wise, it probably deserves four stars, but I'm giving it three because I still find the heavy reliance on processed ingredients disturbing (as well as the sodium content - yikes!) That said, it was easy and my husband liked it, so I might make it again. Definitely doesn't need that extra 1/2 tsp of salt, though; there's plenty in the three soup products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made this and didn't rate it since I changed it SO MUCH but I saw another reviewer with questions and thought I'd answer them. I don't use any cream of anything soups or soup mixes - too much processed food gives me migraines - so I did it all from scratch. I melted a hunk of butter(2 tbsp-ish) in a pan, sauteed the onions and some carrots and celery in the pan, then added 2 tbsp flour - cooked the flour a bit till it all had color. I added the can of coconut milk when I'd have normally added milk (I'm used to making country gravy). I added the spices tasted it - it was a little bland because of the lack of onion soup mix, so I spiced it up a little - salt, pepper, garlic, and the peas then dumped it over the cut on chicken in the crock pot and let it cook. Same general idea but without the migraine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I'm Keon (the creator of this recipe). Glad to see so many people enjoying it! I'm from Texas and like SPICY dishes, so you may want to tone down the cayenne if you don't like spicy as much as I do. Also, to reduce the sodium, you can use the low sodium soups. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEON ROBERTSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was a delicious recipe. I do not like my curry fire-hot, so I only used 1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper instead of the recommended 2 tsps. Next time I will start with 1/4 tsp. I doubled the peas. It was easy to make and will become a favorite in our home. Thank you Keon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I love curry and this turned out very good. My guests couldn't believe how it was made. 1/2 t of cayenne was enough for us. Simple and direct. Don't like reviewers who don't try the original recipe 1st...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by landlinsf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This is excellent if you like curry, but do NOT add 2 teaspoons of cayenne pepper. We only added 1 tsp and it was still too hot and we eat very hot things all the time. We'll use 1/2 tsp next time, you can always add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This recipe was amazing! I have never tried to cook curry at home before, so I will also add that the recipe is very easy to make. The only changes that I made were doubling the recipe and using half of the required cayenne pepper. Even with half, it was still very spicy, but not unbearable. I also substituted frozen chopped spinach for the peas--and that made it even better. I served it with basmati rice and made enough for leftovers all week...I am on day four and not even tired of it yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Ok, I have not eaten this yet, as it is in the crockpot right now...I have to tell you I could not wait to review this. the sauce itself was delicious!!!! Here is what I did. It is a snowy day here in N. Virginia so I did not have all the ingredients on hand and grocery store, only 1 mile away, was not an option. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs and placed in bottom of crockpot. I did not have cream of mushroom soup, so I just doubled the cream of chicken soup. I did not have coconut milk and after research online ended up just using sourcream. I doubled the recipe for my family of 5, but only used 1 tsp of cayenne. I placed baby carrotts on top of the chicken and poured the curry sauce over. It has been cooking for almost 3 hours now and smells heavenly!!!! I usually don't like reviews when people have not tried or made the recipe, but I am positive this one is gonna be a keeper. Gonna serve with rice and steamed veggies. I'll check back after dinner and let you know how the family rates it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is the first time I hav written a review, and, hav had a lot of great recipes from this site.... But, I had to tell Keon that I loved this, it tasted like restaurant quality, and, was so easy!! The only thing I changed was adding 1tbls of garam masala, and , adding potatoes and carrots.. just because I lov them... thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I had my doubts, but it was pretty good. I realized as I was prepping the recipe, I was missing some ingredients, so I made quite a few changes, but it was still a hit with my husband. I was a little concerned with the amount of sodium, so I used 1 can of cream of chicken, 1 can of coconut milk, 1 can of evaporated milk, 1/2 packet of onion soup mix, 2 TBSP. of curry powder, 1 TBSP of garam masala, a pinch of cayenne pepper, & the juice from 1 lime. We don't like peas or mushroom, so I substituted chopped red & yellow bell pepper. I will note that the coconut flavor is lost when you cook it. You can smell it, but can't taste it. I cubed up 6 chicken breasts & there was still plenty of sauce leftover. Next time, I will leave out the evaporated milk & add another can of coconut milk an hour before serving so I can taste the coconut. Also, I might try some sriracha instead of the cayenne pepper & a hint more lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States