Keon's Slow Cooker Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This recipe was SO EASY to make and awesome! I only gave it a 4 star because of the cayenne pepper. I should have listened to the reviews and used less but I am a Trini and thought I could handle the pepper. I could handle it but to me it took away the curry taste and all you tasted was spicy. Everyone still loved it and wanted seconds though, but that is my advice(lessen the cayenne). I also didn't stick to the recipe. Every recipe can be tweaked. That is why it was so easy. I used chicken breasts, less sodium soup, and a bag of frozen mixed veggies. I mixed everything in the crock pot and omitted the salt and black pepper. All the other ingredients give it enough salt and pepper! Once everything was thoroughly mixed, I added the chicken breasts and browned onions and frozen veggies. Then I cooked it and served with rice. Thank you Keon for this recipe! It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
So yummy and so easy! The ingredients were fairly priced and easy to find. I used only 1 Tsp of Cayenne Pepper, which was a good move as I was serving some people who were not fans of super spicy food. It was the right amount of spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This dish was AMAZING AND SIMPLE. I've been looking for a curry chicken dish that was easy to prepare didn't require a whole shopping trip dedicated to just the ingredients and taste delicious! I found that receipe here. One thing I can say is I'm sooooo happy I read the reviews that suggested cutting the Cayenne Pepper to just 1 teaspoon. If I didn't I'm pretty sure this dish would've been a miss for me seeing as I don't like very spicy foods. However it still has the perfect kick I can handle. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1helluvawomen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. I made this exactly as written with the exception of the cayenne pepper. I only used 1 teaspoon and it was still pretty hot. I served it over white rice and garlic naan bread. My husband ate two servings. It was great the next day as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Very good and so easy to make. I used olive oil instead of butter and browned the onion in the slow cooker on the "brown" setting, added the chicken toward the end of the browning b/c 3 hours on low - my slow cooker doesn't have a high and low setting - didn't seem enough to me. I used thinly sliced chicken breast cut into about 1" pieces so it cooked up nicely - was tender and delicious in the end product. I added some fresh baby spinach with about 30 minutes left to cook since I had some from the garden that needed to get used and it went very well. I also used 1/2 tsp of cayenne and can't imagine using more. It would have been too hot, especially since I am serving children along with adults. I'm curious about the serving size and calories though. What size serving is getting the 635 calorie mark? 2 cups or only 1? It seems like a lot for 1 cup but maybe the soups bumped it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I thought this was pretty mediocore. I liked the idea of being able to make it in a slow-cooker, but in the end it really didn't save any effort. I actually used more dishes to cook it than I would have had I done my usual method. I didn't like all the soups because it didn't add flavor, just substance. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Awesome recipe did not antisipate it comming out so well. The chicken comes out mega tender. I upscaled the recipe to 8 servings and it was still great. Bookmark this one do yourselfe a favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Absolutely delicious! My family asks for this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
It's lacking flavor. Too much onion. I added extra curry and cayenne pepper./
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Delicious. 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper was enough. I added a bell pepper and one clove of garlic. Next time I am going to omit the potatoes, add another chicken breast and serve it over coconut lime rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States