Kentucky Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Coffee in a soup? Wow! It adds a flavor component that I could not get with herbs and spices alone. I try various soup recipes regularly and this one is a winner. I added some left over spaghetti sauce with hamburger which gave it added texture. I went easy on the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
My husband made this for dinner one night and I've been joyfully eating the leftovers for a couple of days now. Seriously, so delicious! We even made it without the cream and it was still fabulous, so it can work for those who need to go dairy free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Finvola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Simply good. A great way to use veg from the garden! I would double or triple this next time as the four of us polished it off for dinner tonight. Leftovers would be welcome. (I did add basil - yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
If I could give 6 stars I would! Made this recipe almost exact, didn't have tomato sauce so I used a small can of tomato paste, and due to a whole 30 diet my husband and I are on (we can't have added sugars or dairy) I left out the sugar and cream. But our homegrown tomatoes are sooooo sweet so it was still a sweet soup! My husband was hungry and impatient so I didn't blend the soup, we ate it like a chunky veggie soup...it was amazing. Make this recipe, you won't be disappointed! p.s. don't be afraid of the coffee ingredient!!!! it is the definitely the 'secret ingredient' of this soup!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge City, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This has been my go-to tomato soup for a couple of years now, but I've never taken the time to review it. If the tomatoes are really sweet and summer ripe, I sometimes add a tiny shot of red wine vinegar to round out the flavors. Now, if I ever have to eat tomato soup of out of a can (horrors!), I always add a shot of strong coffee to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This was good, but sould be better. The cooking time was too short to really soften the vegetables, which would have made a better texture. The flavour was good, but not outstanding. Perhaps some more herbs, basil, for instance and maybe oregano too, would provide a more complex flavour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
`I had very high expectations or this soup. i was very disppointed. While the consistency was great it had very little taste. I followed the recipe as written but added additinal garlic. I will nto make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Super easy! Even my husband, who doesn't usually like tomato soup, said it was tasty. The only things I changed were: 1) I left out the carrots, as I didn't have any on hand; and 2) I used a 1/4 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup garlic cooking cream cheese instead of heavy cream. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARaleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I loved this soup, and so did the family. When I came across it I thought of the partial pot of coffee on the counter, the garden tomatoes and herb plot in the backyard, and I also liked the way the recipe "sneaks" in extra veggies. It was simple, and simply delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weather Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chelsea, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was my first time making tomato soup from scratch. I followed the recipe exactly. I liked it but it was missing something, not sure what. I am now going to try other tomato soup recipes and see how they rate to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States