Kentucky Style Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This is the same recipe my Kentucky born mom always used. I've added some changes over the years. I slice my tomatoes quite thin then dip them in Olive Garden's Italian dressing (it's thicker than most) then into a mixture of half flour & half corn meal, sprinkle with salt, pepper and a pinch of sugar on each slice. Fry 'em up nice & slow in a cast iron skillet in bacon grease til real crisp. Also, finely chopped onion & pre cooked bacon bits add a nice touch when they are almost done cooking. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is the recipe I have used my whole life. We are remiss if we don't insist that these be served with a huge pitcher of sweet iced tea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I love fried green tomatoes, and this recipe is great! The only recomendation that I would have would be to try adding some cayenne to the coating - it definately adds a zip to them. Also, one reviewer mentioned that the coating was "thin" - that is a good thing!! That is how they are suppose to be so that you can taste the tomato! Try dipping these in buttermilk ranch dressing - sooo good - but not diet friendly :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Exactly the way I like 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holtville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I made this a few months ago when I had a ton of green 'maters in my garden. I'd never had nor made Fried Green Tomatoes. We really enjoyed them and I think this recipe probably makes THE best FGT's but it will not be one of our regular things. Maybe once a year to say we did it. The green tomato taste was strange to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARMY WIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Not bad. We don't have green tomatoes where I am so I had to make do with ripe tomatoes. They came out crisp, but quickly softened. I'm not sure if that's the right effect. Still good, though slightly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I loved this but put my own special twist. I fried a small eggplant along with and then layered the fried vegetables with tomatoe sauce, mozarella, parmesan and a little cottage cheese in my iron skillet then placed it all in the oven on 350 for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmore, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This recipe is fair. Nice color and texture but really lacking flavor - yes I used bacon grease. Needs more kick in the dry coating... salt, paprika, cumin, ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Yeah, finnally a good recipe for green tomatoes. Movie worthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valdese, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Easy to make, but not much flavor in the breading. It was also a really really thin breading. I'm going to attempt this again, but maybe alter the ingredients a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States