Kentucky Style Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Phenomenal!! These are even better than the ones we get at a hometown restaurant here in Ky.. The bacon grease really gives them the flavor, and I agree with another reveiwer who suggested sprinkling the sugar on them right after frying. We serve these with cocktail sauce. So glad I found this recipe.. Will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
As a Kentuckian, any recipe with Kentucky-style catches my eye. These fgt's are spot-on. I fried my bacon first, then used the same pan with the same grease to fry the tomatoes...then spread some mayo on bread, put it together and grill the whole thing! YUM!!!! I also use almost-red tomatoes, like them as well as green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Having grown up truck patching and raising anywhere from 200 hills to 1500 hills of tomatoes to sale via my grandmother's country store and truck peddling (selling out of the back of a pickup truck), I have eaten my fair share of fired green tomatoes. This recipe is just like what my mother did when she prepared them, which were delicious. However, THINNER is the key to success in our family. A good fried green tomatoe should be almost crispy. The 1/4" or thicker cuts will result in the tomatoes getting soggy as they rest after cooking, which it a big turn off for us. Try the 1/8" thickness for the tomatoes, but be careful not to over cook them. They should turn golden brown and be almost a crispy like a potato chip! That's how some of us in Western Kentucky do it, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Didn't use cornmeal, just used eggs and flour. Fried them up in bacon grease and added some cajun seasoning for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Flint, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Enjoyed the years first bounty tonight! I followed the recipe with one exception, I was out of bacon grease, used corn oil. Next time I will definitely make sure to use the "bad" stuff, can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
this is great! since some people found this to be bland I added salt after frying. this worked out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Blaine, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
After living all of my 53 years in the south, I can honestly say this is the best and ONLY way to cook fried green tomatoes, in bacon grease. It's a southern tradition. These are great, I do add a little cajun seasoning and a dash of sugar, other than that, I don't change a thing. Everyone that I have ever made these for raved over them and during the months when tomatoes are in over abundance, I make these often. This is by far the very best recipe that any cook can make successfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I made this recipe, except with zucchini rather than the tomatoes (my boyfriend isn't a fan of any tomato)I made it two ways, the recipe way and an Italian style alternative (The alternative replaced the cornmeal with Italian style Bread crumbs) Both were awesome and the one listed above tasted like a recipe I had at my friends grandma's house in Louisville. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I have been making and eating fried green tomatoes for over 50 years and the only thing missing was sprinkling with a little sugar when you get through frying them. I takes them up to another level. PS. I am a Kentuckian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States